Non-League Club Directory Logo

Frome Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Premier Division


In 1904 Frome Town joined The Wiltshire Premier League, where the new club competed until joining The Somerset Senior League two seasons later.  The club remained in their county competition until after the first world war when they joined The Western League.

An early Division Two championship took ‘The Robins’ into the top Division but a drop down for another spell in The Wiltshire League encouraged the club to rebuild and return stronger into The Western League in 1963.

Consistent membership was enjoyed until the 2008-2009 season, when, under Andy Crabtree’s managerial leadership, the
club won promotion to The Southern League and after just two seasons, moved up again to the Premier Division through the play-offs.

With consistent improvements to their Badgers Hill ground and a squad that has enjoyed Premier Division football, Frome Town were finishing regularly in the top ten before their promotion in 2011. They are now working hard to consolidate at the higher level and have become one of the senior non-league clubs in the West of England.


Club Factfile

Aldersmith Stadium, Badgers Hill, Berkley Road, Frome BA11 2EH
01373 464 087
Record Attendance:
8,000 v Leyton Orient FA Cup 1st Round 1958
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Somerset Premier Cup 2008-2009

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Western League Premier Division7thR.Boyd
 1978-1979 Western League Premier Division1stR.Boyd
1979-1980Western League Premier Division4thR.Boyd
1980-1981 Western League Premier Division3rdR.Boyd
1981-1982 Western League Premier Division6thR.Boyd
1982-1983 Western League Premier Division2nd
1983-1984 Western League Premier Division4th
1984-1985 Western League Premier Division18th
1985-1986 Western League Premier Division13thP.Thomas
1986-1987 Western League Premier Division19thP.Thomas
1987-1988 Western League Premier Division18thG.Muxworthy
1988-1989 Western League Premier Division17thK.Seconds
1989-1990 Western League Premier Division20thK.Seconds
1990-1991 Western League Premier Division13thLindsay Parsons
1991-1992 Western League Premier Division19thSteve Ford
1992-1993 Western League Premier Division15thSteve Ford
1993-1994 Western League Premier Division15thPhil Morris
1994-1995 Western League Premier Division18thPhil Morris
1995-1996 Western League Premier Division17thMIke Leeson
1996-1997 Western League Division One12thMIke Leeson
1997-1998 Western League Division One17thSimon Culliford
1998-1999 Western League Division One17thSimon Culliford
1999-2000 Western League Division One17thKingsley John
2000-2001 Western League Division One3rdSimon White
 2001-2002 Western League Division One1stSimon White
2002-2003 Western League Premier Division11thPaul Thorpe
2003-2004 Western League Premier Division3rdPaul Thorpe
2004-2005Western League Premier Division3rdAndy Black
2005-2006Western League Premier Division7thAndy Black
2006-2007 Western League Premier Division3rdAndy Crabtree
2007-2008Western League Premier Division4thAndy Crabtree
2008-2009 Western League Premier Division2ndAndy Crabtree
2009-2010 Southern League Division One South West6thAndy Crabtree
2010-2011Southern League Division One South West4thDarren Perrin
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division12thDarren Perrin
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division18thDarren Perrin
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division14thAdrian Foster

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!