Non-League Club Directory Logo

Gloucester City

Altrincham Club Crest image

The Bristol & District League was the first competition entered by Gloucester City when they were formed in 1883. The club then progressed through The Gloucester & District and North Gloucestershire Leagues before joining the Gloucestershire Northern Senior League as founder members in 1921.

The club turned professional in The Birmingham Combination and moved to the Longlevens Ground in 1935, before joining The Southern League in 1939, where they competed until 2009-2010. The League Cup was won in 1955-1956 and City won The Midland Section of the Southern League in 1988-1989, two years after moving into Meadow Park, but the real highlights were possibly also disappointing.

After their Midland Division success, City were Runners-Up in The Southern League Premier Division, just two points behind Farnborough in 1990-1991 and they reached the Semi-Finals of the FA Trophy in 1996-1997, only to be beaten by Dagenham & Redbridge in a replay following their two legged semi-final.

Meadow Park was always a problem after heavy rain, but eventually the club had to vacate the ground and they accepted groundshare agreements with Cirencester Town and more recently Cheltenham Town.

No Football League clubs have been beaten in The FA Cup, but Cardiff City were played in The Second Round Proper of the 1989 -1990 competition and after an exciting 2-2 draw in Wales, The Division Three club held on to win by the only goal of the game.

Gloucester City supporters were given some encouragement at the end of the 2008-2009 campaign when David Mewhew’s squad qualified for the play-offs by finishing in third place. Victories over Cambridge City (3-1) and a 1-0 success against old rivals Farnborough, brought promotion to Blue Square (Conference) North where they have enjoyed four seasons of consolidation.


Club Factfile

Cheltenham Town FC, The Abbey Business Stadium, Whaddon Road GL52 5NA
01242 573558 (Cheltenham Town No.)
From the North (M5) leave at Jnctn 10, follow road A4019) towards Cheltenham, keep going straight through traffic lights until you reach a roundabout, PC World will be on your left and McDonalds on your right. Turn left here, after 500 yards you will then come to a double roundabout, go straight over, keep going for another 300 yards then turn right into Swindon Lane, follow the road over the level crossing and 2 mini roundabouts until you come to a large roundabout, go straight over, signposted Prestbury, continue past Racecourse and turn right into Albert Road, follow this to the end then turn left at roundabout into Prestbury Road, 200yards turn into Whaddon Rd.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One North7thBob Morsell
1979-1980Southern League Midland Division18thBob Mursell
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division13thBob Mursell
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division5thBobby Campbell
1982-1983Southern League Midland Division11thJohn Layton
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division9thBob Mursell
1984-1985Southern League Premier Division18thTony Freely
1985-1986Southern League Division One Midlands9thPaul Richardson
1986-1987Southern League Division One Midlands7thSteve Scarrott
1987-1988Southern League Division One Midlands7thBrian Godfrey
 1988-1989Southern League Division One Midlands1stBrian Godfrey
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division9thBrian Godfrey
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division2ndBrian Godfrey
1991-1992Southern League Premier Division12thBrian Godfrey
1992-1993 Southern League Premier Division13thBrian Godfrey
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division10thBrian Godfrey
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division4thJohn Murphy
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division4thJohn Murphy
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division3rdJohn Murphy
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division11thLeroy Rosenior
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division6thLeroy Rosenior
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division20th Brian Hughes
2000-2001Southern League Western Division13thPhil Mullen
2001-2002Southern League Western Division14thChris Burns
2002-2003Southern League Western Division5thChris Burns
2003-2004Southern League Western Division2ndChris Burns
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division15thChris Burns
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division13thChris Burns
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division10thTim Harris
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division6thTim Harris
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division3rdDavid Mehew
2009-2010Conference North18thDavid Mehew
2010-2011Conference North14thDavid Mehew
2011-2012Conference North14thDavid Mehew
2012-2013Conference North11thDavid Mehew
2013-2014Conference North17thTim Harris

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!