Non-League Club Directory Logo

Grantham Town

Positioned in the East Midlands, the town of Grantham has seen its football team switch twice from The Southern League to The Northern Premier competition after their formation in 1874 after early years spent in The Midland Amateur Alliance, The Central Alliance and The Midland Counties.

‘The Gingerbreads’ first spell in the Northern Premier League came in 1980, after winning the Division One North championship of the Southern League. Five years later relegation was suffered and The MIdland Division One of the Southern League was considered best geographically, but it took thirteen years to reach The Southern Premier Division.

Grantham Town supporters have certainly seen a regular variation of opponents as their club’s longest run at Premier level is six seasons and in the last sixteen years they have sen their club suffer two relegations and celebrate three promotions.

No manager has lasted more than three seasons at Grantham in recent years, so the managerial duo of Wayne Hallcro and Jimmy Albans have extra incentive to help their club consolidate back at the Premier level after their exciting promotion in 2012. It will be difficult to hold their place but consolidation at Premier level will be the aim.


Club Factfile

South Kesteven Sports Stadium, Trent Road, Gratham NG31 7XQ
01476 402 224
FROM A1 NORTH Leave A1 At A607 Melton Mowbray exit. Turn left at island on slip road into Swingbridge Lane. At T junction turn left into Trent Road ground is 100yds on right. FROM A52 NOTTINGHAM. Pass over A1 and at first island turn right into housing estate & Barrowby Gate. Through housing estate to T junction. Turn right and then immediately left into Trent road ground is 100 yards on the left. FROM A607 MELTON MOWBRAY. Pass under A1 and take next left A1 South slip road. At island turn right into Swingbridge Road then as for A1 North above. From all directions follow brown signs for Sports Complex, which is immediately behind the stadium.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Southern League Premier Division22nd
 1978-1979Southern League Division One North1stTerry Bly
1979-1980Northern Premier League9thRobert Norris
1980-1981Northern Premier League14thGeoff Barker
1981-1982Northern Premier League6thRonnie Harrison
1982-1983Northern Premier League14thJoe NIxon
1983-1984Northern Premier League4thBob Duncan
1984-1985Northern Premier League21stBob Duncan
1985-1986Southern League Midland Division10thBob Duncan
1986-1987Southern League Midland Division11thBarry Shaw
1987-1988Southern League Midland Division3rdBarry Shaw
1988-1989Southern League Midland Division5th
1989-1990Southern League Midland Division14thD.Anderson
1990-1991Southern League Midland Division9thJohn Robertson
1991-1992Southern League Midland Division13thJohn Robertson
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division13thBob Duncan
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division11thAllen Crombie
1994-1995Southern League Midland Division21stWarren Ward
1995-1996Southern League Midland Division14thWarren Ward
1996-1997Southern League Midland Division4thGary Mills
1997-1998Southern League Midland Division1stGary Mills
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division17thGary Mills
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division19thDave Gilbert
2000-2001Southern League Eastern Division3rdJohn Wilkinson
2001-2002Southern League Eastern Division2ndJohn Wilkinson
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division16thJohn Wilkinson
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division22ndRoger Ashby
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division13thDave Norton
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division11thDave Norton
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndLee Glover
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One South6thJohn Wilkinson
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One South13thJohn Wilkinson
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One South11thWayne Hallcro/JimmyAlbans
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One South5thWayne Hallcro/JimmyAlbans
 2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South1stWayne Hallcro/JimmyAlbans
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division19thWayne Hallcro/JimmyAlbans
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division15thWayne Hallcro/JimmyAlbans

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!