Non-League Club Directory Logo

Harrogate Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

The club competed in the West Riding League in 1919, the year of their formation at the end of the First World War. However, a steady policy wasn’t easy to adopt for any of the local clubs developing in Yorkshire at the time, and after short periods in all the available competitions, including The Northern League (1931-1932 season), ‘TheTown’ prepared for senior football in The Northern Counties East before reaching The Northern Premier League in 1987.

Silverware hasn’t been easily earned in the club’s climb up the non-league ‘pyramid’ but The West Riding Senior Cup and The N.P.L Division One Championship was won in 2001-2002 under the guidance of Manager John Reed and of course this brought promotion to The Premier Division.

After qualifying for the new Conference North in 2004, four seasons challenging for promotion have been followed by steady consolidation with mid table finishes.


Club Factfile

The CNG Stadium, Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 7SA
01423 883 671
A61 to Harrogate, turn right on to A658, and at roundabout take A661, proceed through second set of lights (Woodlands pub) ground approx. 500 mtrs on the right. From A1 Wetherby. Leave A1 at Wetherby on to A661 to Harrogate. Stay on this road and when reaching Harrogate at Woodland pub lights, ground 500mtrs on the right.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Yorkshire League Division Two13thAlan Smith
1978-1979Yorkshire League Division Two13thAlan Smith
1979-1980Yorkshire League Division Three6thAlan Smith
1980-1981Yorkshire League Division Three2ndAlan Smith
 1981-1982Yorkshire League Division Two1stAlan Smith
1982-1983Northern Counties East Division One North4thAlan Smith
1983-1984Northern Counties East Division One North7thAlan Smith
1984-1985Northern Counties East Division One North2ndAlan Smith
1985-1986Northern Counties East Division One3rdAlan Smith
1986-1987Northern Counties East Premier Division9thAlan Smith
1987-1988Northern Premier League Division One10thAlan Smith
1988-1989Northern Premier League Division One8thAlan Smith
1989-1990Northern Premier League Division One9thAlan Smith
1990-1991Northern Premier League Division One10thAlan Smith
1991-1992Northern Premier League Division One19thAlan Smith
1992-1993Northern Premier League Division One10thAlan Smith
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One20thAlan Smith/John Deacey
1994-1995Northern Premier League Division One13thAlan Smith
1995-1996Northern Premier League Division One21stAlan Smith
1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One17thMicky Doig
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One19thMicky Doig
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One11thMicky Doig
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One11thPaul Ward
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One11thDave Fell
 2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One1stJohn Reed
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division6thJohn Reed
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division5thJohn Reed
2004-2005Conference North6thJohn Reed
2005-2006Conference North5thNeil Aspin
2006-2007Conference North6thNeil Aspin
2007-2008Conference North6thNeil Aspin
2008-2009Conference North9thNeil Aspin
2009-2010Conference North21stSimon Weaver
2010-2011Conference North12thSimon Weaver
2001-2012Conference North15thSimon Weaver

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!