Non-League Club Directory Logo

Hastings United

Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Premier Division


The name changes can be confusing for the football club in Hastings. ‘United’ became ‘Town’ in 1985 but in 2002, after some off field problems, the club settled down to regain their place in the Southern Premier Division as Hastings United.

Having developed as a solid member of the Southern League, moving up and down between Division One and The Premier Division, their longest serving manager was the famous Chelsea and England full back Peter Sillett. Although silverware was celebrated as Champions of Division One in 1992 and 2002, ‘The O’s ‘ found it difficult to consolidate in the Premier Division and returned to Division One in 2004 after two campaigns.

This time Hastings United were welcomed into The Isthmian League where it took them three seasons to return to Premier Division football. In recent campaigns the team has been looked after by seven different managers and for three years the club experimented with two working together with mixed fortunes. Sadly, after three seasons battling at the foot of the table, relegation couldn’t be avoided and United are back in Division One South.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Hastings and St Leonards Amateurs and Hastings Town until 2002.
The Pilot Field, Elphinstone Road, Hastings TN34 2AX
01424 444 635
Record Attendance:
4,888 v Nottingham Forest Friendly 1996
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Southern League Division One 2001-2002

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Southern League Premier Division13thBobby Drake
1978-1979Southern League Premier Division21stBobby Drake
1979-1980Southern League Southern Division10thPeter Sillett
1980-1981Southern League Southern Division3rdPeter Sillett
1981-1982Southern League Southern Division2ndPeter Sillett
1982-1983Southern League Premier Division16thPeter Sillett
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division10thPeter Sillett
1984-1985Southern League Premier Division16thGerry Boon
1985-1986Southern League Southern Division3rdGerry Boon
1986-1987Southern League Southern Division4thJoe White
1987-1988Southern League Southern Division12thJack Dalton
1988-1989Southern League Southern Division7thPeter Sillett
1989-1990Southern League Southern Division8thPeter Sillett
1990-1991Southern League Southern Division7thPeter Sillett
 1991-1992Southern League Southern Division1stPeter Sillett
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division16thPeter Sillett
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division12thDean White
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division12thDean White
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division6thGarry Wilson
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division16thGarry Wilson
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division14thGarry Wilson
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division5thTerry & Dean White
1999-2000Southern League Eastern Division5thTerry & Dean White
2000-2001Southern League Eastern Division6thDean White
 2001-2002Southern League Eastern Division1stGeorge Wakeling
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division20thGeorge Wakeling
2003-2004Southern League Eastern Division18thSteve Lovell & Vince Moorton
2004-2005Isthmian League Division One11thSteve Lovell & Vince Moorton
2005-2006Isthmian League Division One12thNeville Southall & Vince Moorton
2006-2007Isthmian League Division One South4thNigel Kane
2007-2008Isthmian League Premier Division14thNigel Kane
2008-2009Isthmian League Premier Division17thJohn Lambert
2009-2010Isthmian League Premier Division7thTony Dalby
2010-2011Isthmian League Premier Division18thTony Dalby
2011-2012Isthmian League Premier Division18thJason Hopkinson
2012-2013Isthmian League Premier Division22ndSean Ray
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One South

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!