Non-League Club Directory Logo

Hednesford Town

Currently Playing In:

Conference North


A well established club who were formed in 1880 and before proving themselves at the top level of non-league football, Hednesford FC worked their way up through the local leagues:-

1880-1906 Walsall & District League
1906-1915 Birmingham Combination
1919-1939 West Midlands League
1945-1953 Birmingham Combination
1953-1972 West Midlands League
1972-1974 Midland Counties League
as Hednesford Town
1974-1984 West Midlands League

Promotion into the Southern League saw the club establish itself in The Midland Division One, but in their eighth season, under the inspired managerial leadership of John Baldwin, the club were promoted into the Premier Division and three seasons later ‘The Pitman’ qualified for the Conference.

This was a great period for the club with cup successes added and squad members picked for England. That particular spell at the very top didn’t last more than four seasons and since then the club has alternated between The Southern League and Northern Premier League. However since 2001, Hednesford Town have never dropped below the premier divisions and have in fact reached the playoffs impressively in three consecutive seasons without winning promotion.

In their seventh consecutive season finishing in the top six, Hednesford’s consistency was rewarded, their play-off luck changed and promotion was gained back to The Conference North.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Hednesford 1938-1974
Keys Park, Park Road, Hednesford, Cannock WS12 20Z
01543 422 870
Record Attendance:
3169 v York City FACup 3rd Round 1997
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Promotion as Runners up in Northern Premier League 2012-2013

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979West Midlands (Regional) League4thM.Owen
1979-1980West Midlands (Regional) League4thM.Owen
1980-1981West Midlands (Regional) League5thMick Babb
1981-1982West Midlands (Regional) League13thMick Babb
1982-1983West Midlands (Regional) League3rdMick Babb
1983-1984West Midlands (Regional) League2ndMick Babb
1984-1985Southern League Division One Midlands3rdMick Babb
1985-1986Southern League Division One Midlands13thMick Babb
1986-1987Southern League Division One Midlands6thBob Wickett
1987-1988Southern League Division One Midlands18thBob Wickett
1988-1989Southern League Division One Midlands15thBob Wickett
1989-1990Southern League Division One Midlands16thPaddy Page
1990-1991Southern League Division One Midlands3rdJohn Baldwin
1991-1992Southern League Division One Midlands2ndJohn Baldwin
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division4thJohn Baldwin
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division13thJohn Baldwin
 1994-1995Southern League Premier Division1stJohn Baldwin
1995-1996The Football Conference3rdJohn Baldwin
1996-1997The Football Conference8thJohn Baldwin
1997-1998The Football Conference7thJohn Baldwin
1998-1999The Football Conference10thJohn Baldwin
1999-2000The Football Conference17thJohn Baldwin
2000-2001The Football Conference22ndJohn Baldwin
2001-2002Southern League Premier Division16thPaul Raynor
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division11thIan Painter
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division20thBarry Powell
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division4thChris Brindley
2005-2006Conference North22ndChris Brindley
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division7thPhil Starbuck
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division8thPhil Starbuck
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division8thDean Edwards
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division4thDean Edwards
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division2ndBernard McNally
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division5thRobert Smith
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndRobert Smith
2013-2014Conference North4thRobert Smith

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!