Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Premier Division


Hendon Football Club was formed in 1946 after a local club had played under the names of Christ Church Hampstead, Hampstead, Hampstead Town and Golders Green. The Athenian League was won three times and the move to the Isthmian League took place in 1963-1964 when they immediately finished second to the powerful Wimbledon club.

In the last thirty years Hendon have been one of the very few clubs who have competed in the same division of the same league without a break, and their reputation as one of the very top amateur clubs of the sixties and seventies has sadly
changed to a club, without a home of its own, which is finding survival in the Premier Isthmian division a tough battle.

Two Wembley appearances in The F.A.Amateur Cup Final brought runners-up medals in 1966 and the cup in 1972 and The Isthmian Championship was won in 1964-65 and 1972-1973 with second place achieved in 1963-1964, 1965-1966 and 1973-1974.

Hendon have fine traditions and history and some great players thrilled the crowds at Claremont Road, but it will take that special club spirit to lift the Hendon Club back to the top of non-league football. Members are proud of their consistency and treasured membership of the senior Isthmian Division - long may it last.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Christ Church Hampstead until 1908, Hampstead Town until 1933 and Golders Green until 1946
Harrow Borough FC, Earlsmead, Carlyon Avenue, South Harrow HA2 8SS
From the M25 junction 16, take the M40 East towards Uxbridge and London. Continue onto A40, passing Northolt Aerodrome on the left hand side. At the Target Roundabout junction (A312) turn left towards Northolt. Just after passing Northolt Underground Station on the left hand side, turn left at the next set of traffic lights, onto Eastcote Lane, becoming Field End Road. At next roundabout, turn right onto Eastcote Lane. At a small parade of shops, take the turning on the right into Carlyon Avenue. Earlsmead is the second turning on the right.
Record Attendance:
9.000 at Claremont Road v Northampton Town FA Cup 1st Round 1952
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Middlesex Senior Cup

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Premier Division9thDave Hogwood
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier Division13thRod Haider
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier Division6thJohn Evans
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier Division13thKen Payne
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier Division12thDave Mawson
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division9thRoy Ruffell
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division17thRoy Ruffell
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division19thGary Hand
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division4thTed Hardy
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division10thTed Hardy
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division12thTed Hardy
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier Division12thMicky Janes
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier Division15thAlan Randall
1991-1992Isthmian League Premier Division17thGwyn Walters
1992-1993Isthmian League Premier Division11thGwyn Walters
1993-1994Isthmian League Premier Division11thPeter Taylor
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier Division17thMick Browne
1995-1996Isthmian League Premier Division14thMick Browne
1996-1997Isthmian League Premier Division16thNeil Price
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division5thFrank Murphy
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division13thFrank Murphy
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division8thFrank Murphy
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division12thFrank Murphy
2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division8thDave Anderson
2002-2003Isthmian League Premier Division3rdDave Anderson
2003-2004Isthmian League Premier Division3rdDave Anderson
2004-2005Isthmian League Premier Division11thTony Choules
2005-2006Isthmian League Premier Division19thGary McCann
2006-2007Isthmian League Premier Division14thGary McCann
2007-2008Isthmian League Premier Division7thGary McCann
2008-2009Isthmian League Premier Division16thGary McCann
2009-2010Isthmian League Premier Division10thGary McCann
2010-2011Isthmian League Premier Division15thGary McCann
2011-2012Isthmian League Premier Division7thGary McCann
2012-2013Isthmian League Premier Division10thGary McCann
2013-2014Isthmian League Premier Division8thGary McCann

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!