Non-League Club Directory Logo

Hereford United

Altrincham Club Crest image

With the FA Cup victory over Newcastle United in 1972 capturing the football public’s imagination, Hereford United were voted into the Football League the following season.
With confidence high and supporters believing anything was now possible for their heroes, ‘The Bulls’ competed in the Football League’s Second Division in 1976-1977.

However, the cost of keeping up with Football League standards gradually proved more difficult and Hereford gradually sank back to the relegation zone in Division Four and returned to Non-League football in 1997-98.

With Graham Turner in charge or their nine seasons in the Conference, the club took six years to settle and then qualified for Play-Offs in three consecutive seasons before they eventually won promotion.

One definite plus during some difficult years was their FA Cup form as a Conference club, Hereford reached the Third Round twice, the Second Round three times and the First Round twice, so what with three play-offs as well, the fans certainly had their share of excitement.

Their return to the Conference brought a solid season in the top third of the competition and supporters will expect a strong challenge to regain their Football League place.


Club Factfile

Edgar Street Athletic Ground, Blackfriars Street, Hereford HR4 9JU
08442 76 1939
Edgar Street is in the heart of the City of Hereford. The main road, Edgar Street, which lends it's name to the ground is the main A49 which runs directly through Hereford City Centre in a North-South direction.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Football League Division 414thMike Bailey
1979-1980Football League Division 421stFrank Lord
1980-1981Football League Division 422ndFrank Lord
1981-1982Football League Division 410thFrank Lord
1982-1983Football League Division 424thTommy Hughes
1983-1984Football League Division 411thJohn Newman
1984-1985Football League Division 45thJohn Newman
1985-1986Football League Division 410thJohn Newman
1986-1987Football League Division 416thJohn Newman
1987-1988Football League Division 419thLee Bowyer
1988-1989Football League Division 415thLee Bowyer
1989-1990Football League Division 417thLee Bowyer
1990-1991Football League Division 417thColin Addison
1991-1992Football League Division 417thJohn Sillet
1992-1993Football League Division 317thGreg Downs
1993-1994Football League Division 320thGreg Downs
1994-1995Football League Division 316thJohn Layton
1995-1996Football League Division 36thGraham Turner
1996-1997Football League Division 324thGraham Turner
1997-1998Conference6thGraham Turner
1998-1999Conference13thGraham Turner
1999-2000Conference8thGraham Turner
2000-2001Conference11thGraham Turner
2001-2002Conference17thGraham Turner
2002-2003 Conference6thGraham Turner
2003-2004Conference2ndGraham Turner
2004-2005Conference2ndGraham Turner
2005-2006Conference2ndGraham Turner
2006-2007Football League 216thGraham Turner
2007-2008Football League 23rdGraham Turner
2008-2009 Football League 121stGraham Turner/John Trewick
2009-2010Football League 216thJohn Trewick/Graham Turner
2010-2011Football League 221stSimon Davey/Jamie Pitman
2011-2012Football League 223rd
2012-2013Conference Premier6thMartin Foyle
2013-2014Conference Premier20thPeter Beadle

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!