Non-League Club Directory Logo

Hertford Town

Currently Playing In:

Spartan South Midlands Premier Division


Having merged with four local clubs, the newly named Hertford Town certainly worked hard to find the right leagues in which to develop:-

Hertfordshire Senior County League 1908-1912
East Herts League 1912-1920
Middlesex League 1920-1922
Spartan League       1922-1959
Delphian League 1959-1963
Athenian League 1963-1972
Eastern Counties League 1972-1973
Isthmian League 1973-2006
Spartan South Midlands League 2006

Hertford Town were pleased to have been invited to join the Athenian and the Isthmian competitions when the famous Leagues were expanding, and the club certainly enjoyed a long spell as an Isthmian club, although it was usually in the constantly changing world of the lower levels.

One promotion as runners-up in Division Two, was enjoyed under manager Dave Whitehead in 1998, but sadly the improvement didn’t continue and in 2006 it was decided that the club might be happier in The Spartan South Midlands League where they have enjoyed their football ever since.


Club Factfile

Hertingfordbury Park, West Street, Hertford SG13 8EZ
01992 583 716
Record Attendance:
5.000 v Kingstonian FA Amateur Cup 2nd Round 1955-1956
Most Recent Senior Honour:
County Cup

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Isthmian League Division One11thTommy Barnett
1978-1979Isthmian League Division One5thTommy Barnett
1979-1980Isthmian League Division One14thTommy Barnett
1980-1981Isthmian League Division One14thTommy Barnett
1981-1982Isthmian League Division One7thTommy Barnett
1982-1983Isthmian League Division One4thTommy Barnett
1983-1984Isthmian League Division One14thTommy Barnett
1984-1985Isthmian League Division One22ndTommy Barnett
1985-1986Isthmian League Division Two North5thT.G.Woodrow
1986-1987Isthmian League Division Two North15thT.G.Woodrow
1987-1988Isthmian League Division Two North22ndPaul Fairclough
1988-1989Isthmian League Division Two North10thPaul Fairclough
1989-1990Isthmian League Division Two North3rdPaul Fairclough
1990-1991Isthmian League Division Two North15thPaul Janaway
1991-1992Isthmian League Division Three13thPaul Janaway
1992-1993Isthmian League Division Three10thPaul Janaway
1993-1994Isthmian League Division Three7thJohn Walsh
1994-1995Isthmian League Division Three17thPaul Reynolds
1995-1996Isthmian League Division Three18thHenry Reis
1996-1997Isthmian League Division Three13thDave Whitehead
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Three2ndDave Whitehead
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Two20thDave Whitehead
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Three14thDavid Marett
2000-2001Isthmian League Division Three19thGraham Roberts
2001-2002Isthmian League Division Three11thAndy Prutton
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One North24thAndy Prutton
2003-2004Isthmian League Division Two3rdBrian Owen
2004-2005Isthmian League Division Two4thBrian Owen
2005-2006Isthmian League Division Two13thKevin Hart
2006-2007Spartan South Midlands Premier Division3rdGary Connor
2007-2008Spartan South Midlands Premier Division4thDave Greenwood
2008-2009Spartan South Midlands Premier Division10thDave Greenwood
2009-2010Spartan South Midlands Premier Division16thPablo Adiles
2010-2011Spartan South Midlands Premier Division9th
2011-2012Spartan South Midlands Premier Division16th
2012-2013Spartan South Midlands Premier Division17thMarvin Samuel
2013-2014Spartan South Midlands Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!