Non-League Club Directory Logo

Heybridge Swifts

Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Division One North


Heybridge Swifts competed in three County Leagues before joining The Essex Senior League in 1971. Having been formed in 1880, the club passed through The Essex & Suffolk Border League, The North Essex League and the South Essex League before
settling in the major county competition.

In 1981 the club won its first title as Champions of The Essex Senior Leaguer and, in a purple patch for the club, the title was retained for the next two seasons before they became founder members of the Isthmian League regional Division Two. Five years competing at the top of this division were rewarded by promotion as champions in 1990 and a five year spell in Division One followed, before gaining another promotion in 1996.

Well known non-league manager Garry Hill had led the club into The Premier Division but after his seven years service, the club changed leaders regularly as they struggled to gain consistency at this level. In fact, it was after their unlucky thirteenth Premier campaign that relegation took Heybridge Swifts back to the Division One North in 2009 where they have so far experienced quiet seasons in mid table


Club Factfile

Scraley Road, Heybridge, Maldon, Essex CM9 8JA
01621 852 978
Leave Maldon on way to Colchester, pass through Heybridge then turn right at sign to Totteshunt Major (Scraley Road) . The Ground is on the right.
Record Attendance:
2477 v Woking FA Trophy 1997
Most Recent Senior Honour:
East Anglian Cup 1994-1995

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980Essex Senior League10th
1980-1981Essex Senior League2nd
 1981-1982Essex Senior League1stJoe Sullivan
 1982-1983Essex Senior League1st
1983-1984Essex Senior League1st
1984-1985Isthmian League Division Two North3rdK.Varney
1985-1986Isthmian League Division Two North3rdK.Varney
1986-1987 Isthmian League Division Two North4thK.Varney
1987-1988Isthmian League Division Two North9thColin Norman
1988-1989Isthmian League Division Two North5thPaul Delea
 1989-1990Isthmian League Division Two North1stPaul Delea
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One18thPaul Delea
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One19thPaul Delea
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One16thGarry Hill
1993-1994Isthmian League Division One5thGarry Hill
1994-1995 Isthmian League Division One16thGarry Hill
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One2ndGarry Hill
1996-1997Isthmian League Premier Division9thGarry Hill
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division6thGarry Hill
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division17thGarry Hill
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division15thRobbie Nihill
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division7thLiam Cutbush
2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division13thSteve Dowman
2002-2003Isthmian League Premier Division20thDavid Greene
2003-2004Isthmian League Premier Division16thD.Greene/Mark Hawkes
2004-2005Isthmian League Premier Division7thKeith Martin
2005-2006Isthmian League Premier Division2ndKeith Martin/ Brian Stathem
2006-2007Isthmian League Premier Division10thBrian Stathem
2007-2008Isthmian League Premier Division12thBrian Stathem
2008-2009Isthmian League Premier Division21stBrian Stathem
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One North6thWayne Bond
2010-2011Isthmian League Division One North9thWayne Bond
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One North15thMark Hawkes
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One North6thMark Hawkes
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One North3rdJody Brown

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!