Non-League Club Directory Logo

Hucknall Town

Currently Playing In:

Northern Counties East League Premier Division


Having changed their name from Hucknall Colliery Welfare in 1987, the new Hucknall Town Football Club could not have experienced a more successful start. Four consecutive championships took the club from The Notts Football Alliance to the top of The Central Alliance and after one more campaign, membership of The Northern Counties East was achieved in 1992.

Three years of consolidation at their new level was followed by three seasons challenging at the top. By 1999 two promotions took the club to the Premier Division of The Northern Premier League under the managership of John Ramshaw.

The club had built a reputation for long serving managers as Edward Mullane had also given seven years of service, but after three seasons of consolidation in the Premier Division a change of leadership was made, and it was under the leadership of Steve Burr that ‘The Town’ achieved their highest level with promotion to The Conference North as NPL champions.

The club didn’t achieve a top ten finish in their five years at this level and since then have suffered relegation three times, but the fact that twelve different managers have been in charge in the last twelve seasons cannot have made life any easier..


Club Factfile

Watnell Road, Hucknall, Notts. NG15 6EY
01159 302 206
Exit the M! at Junction 27 and take the A608 towards Hucknall. Turn Right onto the A611 to Hucknall, then take The Hucknall by-pass. At the second roundabout join Watnall Road (B6009) and the ground is 190 yards on the righty.
Record Attendance:
1841 v Bishop's Stortford FA Trophy Semi-Final 2004-2005
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Northern Premier League Premier Division 2003-2004

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

 1987-1988Notts Football Alliance1stTed Mullane
 1988-198Notts Football Alliance1stTed Mullane
 1989-1990Central Midlands1stTed Mullane
 1990-1991Central Midlands1stRoger Dawkins
1991-1992Central Midlands2ndRoger Dawkins
1992-1993Northern Counties East Division One2ndEdward Mullane
1993-1994Northern Counties East Premier Division14thEdward Mullane
1994-1995Northern Counties East Premier Division15thEdward Mullane
1995-1996Northern Counties East Premier Division16thEdward Mullane
1996-1997Northern Counties East Premier Division6thJohn Ramshaw
 1997-1998Northern Counties East Premier Division1stJohn Ramshaw
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One2ndJohn Ramshaw
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division18thJohn Ramshaw
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division10thJohn Ramshaw
2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division16thJohn Ramshaw
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division8thPhil Starbuck
 2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division1stSteve Burr
2004-2005Conference North10thErnie Moss
2005-2006Conference North12thDean Barrick
2006-2007Conference North13thKevin Wilson
2007-2008Conference North20thAndy Legg
2008-2009Conference North22ndMichael Galloway & Andy Miller
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division17thBryan Chambers
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division20thTommy Brooklands
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South11thTommy Brooklands
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One South22ndBrett Reece
2013-2014Central Midlands League South13thAndy Graves

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!