Non-League Club Directory Logo

Hythe Town

Currently Playing In:

IsthmianLeague Division One South


A club with a variety of names during its history since 1910, but obviously possess a dedicated group of fans and officials who have helped the club through difficult times.

Most of Hythe’s football life has been spent within the Kent competitions with the majority of years proving themselves a powerful and competitive member of the Kent Football League. Possibly the fact that a fine run of form at the end of the ‘Eighties’ took ‘Town’ into the Southern League persuaded the club officials to overspend. The result was liquidation but the club stayed alive in The Kent County League and returned to senior football as Hythe United in 1996.

With ground improvements and enthusiasm on and off the field, the club consolidated in The Kent League and in 2001 once again played under the title of Hythe Town. Three managers, David Linstrem, Paul Fisk and Scott Parker, obviously proved a power of strength for the club which only finished outside the top ten twice in ten years as the new Hythe Town. Then in 2010 all the hard work and dedication was seen to be worthwhile when the club were promoted into The Isthmian League as Kent Champions. Supporters were thrilled when a place in the Play-offs at the end of the 2012-2013 season showed the club’s encouraging progress was continuing.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Hythe Town until 1988 Hythe Town 1988 Ltd until 1992 Hythe United 1995-2001
Reachfields Stadium, Fort Road, Hythe CT 21 6JS
01303 264 932
Record Attendance:
2147 v Yeading FA Vase Semi-Finasl 1990
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Kent League Division One Champions 2010-2011

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Kent Football League4thR.Davis
1978-1979Kent Football League2ndR.Davis
1979-1980Kent Football League3rd
1980-1981Kent Football League6th
1981-1982Kent Football League11th
1982-1983Kent Football League2nd
1983-1984Kent Football League3rdG.Dempsey
1984-1985Kent Football League2ndG.Dempsey
1985-1986Kent Football League12thG.Dempsey
1986-1987Kent Football League11thG.Dempsey
1987-1988Kent Football League5thG.Dempsey
 1988-1989Kent Football League1stG.Dempsey
1989-1990Southern League Southern Division6thNeil Cugley
1990-1991Southern League Southern Division8thLee Smelt
1991-1992Southern League Southern Division13thLee Smelt
1992-1993Club put into liquidation
As Hythe United (1992)
1993-1994Kent County League Eastern First Division5th
1994-1995Kent County League Premier Division3rd
1995-1996Kent County League Premier Division9th
1996-1997Kent Football League Division One13thMichael Dix
1997-1998Kent Football League Division One14thMichael Dix
1998-1999Kent Football League Division One12thMichael Dix
1999-2000Kent Football League Division One8thDavid Linstrem
2000-2001Kent Football League Division One14thDavid Linstrem
As Hythe Town
2001-2002Kent Football League Division One14thDavid Linstrem
2002-2003Kent Football League Division One8thDavid Linstrem
2003-2004Kent Football League Division One6thPaul Fisk
2004-2005Kent Football League Division One6thPaul Fisk
2005-2006Kent Football League Division One12thPaul Fisk
2006-2007Kent Football League Division One6thPaul Fisk
2007-2008Kent Football League Division One4thPaul Fisk
2008-2009Kent Football League Division One2ndPaul Fisk
2009-2010Kent Football League Division One3rdScott Porter
 2010-2011Kent Football League Division One1stScott Porter
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One South8thScott Porter
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One South4thScott Porter
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One South8thScott Porter
2014-2015Isthmian League Division One SouthTim Dixon

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!