Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Essex Senior League


Ilford is another club with an impressive history in senior amateur football with Isthmian league and FA Amateur Cup honours, who lost their individuality when merging with Essex neighbours Leytonstone in 1979. Sadly for Essex football fans, Walthamstowe Avenue and Dagenham also joined the merger, eventually leaving just one club - a stronger Dagenham to represent one of the most traditional football hotbeds in the country.

Ilford Football Club re-formed in 1987 and after inconsistent involvement with the Spartan League, regained confidence in the Essex Senior League where they were regularly challenging for honours. In 2004 the club returned to The Isthmian League as Essex League runners up and after their first campaign moved across to The Southern League as Isthmian DivisionTwo Champions.

Sadly, this was their last league success, before a six year period which saw ‘The Foxes’ back in the Isthmian ‘family,’ but finding life very difficult and eventually ending in relegation back to The Essex Senior League.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Reformed as Ilford in 1987 after the original club had merged with Leytonstone in 1980
Cricklefield Stadium, 486 High Road, Ilford, Essex 1GI 1UE
020 8514 8352
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Isthmian League Division Two 2004-2005

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1997-1998Essex Senior League11thRay Creek
1998-1999Essex Senior League6thRay Lee
1999-2000Essex Senior League4thAlan Bailey
2000-2001Essex Senior League6thAlan Bailey
2001-2002Essex Senior League9thJoe Simmonds
2002-2003Essex Senior League3rdJoe Simmonds
2003-2004Essex Senior League2ndStewart Margolis
 2004-2005Isthmian League Division Two1stAllan Fenn
2005-2006Southern League Division One East21stlAllan Fenn
2006-2007Isthmian Division One North21stAllan Fenn
2007-2008Isthmian Division One North21stMel Atwell
2008-2009Isthmian Division One North17thChris Wood
2009-2010Isthmian Division One North20thChris Wood
2010-2011Isthmian Division One North20thColin Walton
2011-2012Isthmian Division One North20thColin Walton
2012-2013Isthmian Division One North22ndKevin Lucas
2013-2014Essex Senior League16thMartin Haywood

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!