Non-League Club Directory Logo

Kendal Town

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Division One North


Known as Netherfield, from their formation in 1919 until 1998, when for two years the club played as Netherfield Kendal. The new century saw the launching of Kendal Town and by then the club had reached Division One of The Northern Premier League.

After the early days in The Westmorland League and The Lancashire Combination, ‘Town‘ had qualified for The Northern Premier League in 1968 but after some difficult seasons, the club dropped down to The North West Counties for Three seasons between 1984 - 87.

Nineteen seasons later having played consistently in N.P.L.Division One, Kendal Town emerged to take their place in The Premier Division having started out as Netherfield and finished as Kendal Town. In their first seven seasons at this level with Lee Ashcroft as manager for six of them, the club strangely finished 11th on three occasions and 5th also three times.

After seven seasons of comfortable mid table finishes at Premier level, the 2012-2013 campaign came as a nasty shock to Kendal Town supporters as 21st place brought relegation to Division one North.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Cosy Seal Stadium, Parkside Road, Kendal,Cumbria LA9 7BL
01539 727 472
M6 junction 36, via A590/591/ A6 to Kendal (South). At first traffic lights turn right, left at roundabout, right into Parkside Road.Ground on right over brow of hill.
Record Attendance:
5184 v Grimsby Town FA Cup 1st Round 1955
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Lancashire Senior Cup 2002-2003

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern Premier League18thR.Fisher
1978-1979Northern Premier League15thR.Fisher
1979-1980Northern Premier League18thK.Kirby
1980-1981Northern Premier League17thk.KIrby
1981-1982Northern Premier League22ndT.Ferber
1982-1983Northern Premier League22ndT.Ferber
1983-1984Northern Premier League18thT.Ferber
1984-1985North West Counties Division One18thMalcolm Burgess
1985-1986North West Counties Division One17thMalcolm Burgess
1986-1987North West Counties Division One17thMalcolm Burgess
1987-1988Northern Premier League Division One19thMalcolm Burgess
1988-1989Northern Premier League Division One21stDavid Edge
1989-1990Northern Premier League Division One20th
1990-1991Northern Premier League Division One12thGary Pierce
1991-1992Northern Premier League Division One9thAlan Kennedy
1992-1993Northern Premier League Division One15thTony Hesketh
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One5thTony Hesketh
1994-1995Northern Premier League Division One9thLeighton James
1995-1996Northern Premier League Division One15thSteve Edmondson
1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One14thSteve Edmondson
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One16thStan Allen
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One15thStan Allen
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One20thAlan Cook
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One18thAlan Cook
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One12thMick Hoyle
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One21stPeter Smith
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One5thTony Hesketh
2004-2005Northern Premier League Division One3rdTony Hesketh
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division11thRob Smith
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division5thLee Ashcroft
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division11thLee Ashcroft
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division5thLee Ashcroft
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division5thLee Ashcroft
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division8thLee Ashcroft
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division11thLee Ashcroft
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division21stLee Ashcroft
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One North10thDave Foster

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!