Non-League Club Directory Logo

Leek Town

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Division One South


Formed in 1948 when football was sweeping the country after the wartime pressures, Leek Town have competed in eight different leagues, starting in The Staffordshire County League and then the Manchester League for two spells on either side of 1954-1956, when ‘The Blues’ played in The West Midlands competition.

After nine years in The North West Counties it was onwards and upwards into the big three - The Northern Premier League, The Southern League for one season and two years at the top, in The Conference (1997-1999).

‘The Blues’ of Leek Town competed in the original North West Counties League and the First Division of the NPL. In 1990 a Wembley appearance in the FA Trophy Final was a boost for the town and the Staffordshire club have settled down in the Northern Premier League, shuttling between The Premier and Division One.


Club Factfile

Harrison Park, Macclesfield Road, Leek, Cheshire ST13 8LD
01538 399 278
Record Attendance:
5312 v Macclesfield Town FA Cup 1973-1974
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Northern Premier League Premier Division 1996-1997

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Cheshire County League Division One9thPaul Ogden
1979-1980 Cheshire County League Division One18thK.Hancock
1980-1981Cheshire County League Division One10thA.Vickers
1981-1982Cheshire County League Division One15thA.Vickers
1982-1983North West Counties Division One11thJ.Wallace
1983-1984North West Counties Division One11thJ.Wallace
1984-1985North West Counties Division One9thMike Pejic
1985-1986North West Counties Division One7thMike Pejic
1986-1987North West Counties Division One16thNeil Baker
1987-1988Northern Premier League Division One3rdNeil Baker
1988-1989Northern Premier League Division One3rdNeil Baker
 1989-1990Northern Premier League Division One1stNeil Baker
1990-1991Northern Premier League Premier Division9thNeil Baker
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division4thNeil Baker
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division5thNeil Baker
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndNeil Baker
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division7thPhil Wilson
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division17thPhil Wilson
 1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division1stPhil Wilson/Peter Ward
1997-1998The Conference19thPeter Ward
1998-1999The Conference21stErnie Moss
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division19thErnie Moss
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndAndy Holmes
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One6thKarl Wilcox & Mark Bromley
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One9thJohn Ramshaw
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One8thJohn Ramshaw
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division7thPaul Ogden
2005-2006 Northern Premier League Premier Division12thPaul Ogden
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division17thMark Cartwright
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division19thPaul Ogden
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One South9thWayne Johnson
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One South8thWayne Johnson
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One South16thWayne Johnson
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South5thLee Casswell
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One South10thLee Casswell
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One South

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!