Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Premier Division


One year after formation, Lewes Football Club joined the Mid Sussex League where they competed until moving on to The Sussex County League in 1920. In 1965 a move to the strong Athenian League saw the club developing and in 1977 ‘The Rooks‘ joined the expanding Isthmian League.

Fortunes fluctuated in this very competitive league and although a place in Division One was achieved, the club‘s form fluctuated until early in the new century, when first Jimmy Quinn, and then Steve King, provided the managerial leadership to take the club into the newly formed Conference South in 2004. after winning a very well timed championship of The Isthmian Division One South.

However, the fact the ground had been considered below standard for senior football and serious off field financial problems provided pressures on the club. Playing standards were reduced and very quickly the football club was forced to return to Isthmian League football under the guidance of dedicated and loyal local supporters.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
The Dripping Pan, Mountfield Road, Lewes, East Sussex BN7 2XD
01273 470 820
After leaving the M23, follow the A23 to Brighton. On the outskirts of Brighton join the A27 eastbound. Stay on the A27 for about 5 miles. At the roundabout take first exit into Lewes. Follow this road until you reach traffic lights outside Lewes Prison. Turn right at the lights and follow the road down the hill until you reach a mini roundabout outside the Swan public house. Turn left at roundabout into Southover High Street and continue over next mini roundabout outside the Kings Head public house. At the next roundabout go straight over into Mountfield Road. The Dripping Pan is on your right.
Record Attendance:
2500 v Newhaven Sussex County League 1947
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Conference South 2007-2008

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Division 24thPeter Grummitt
1979-1980Isthmian League Division 22ndRay Smith
1980-1981Isthmian League Division 111thRay Smith
1981-1982Isthmian League Division 16thRay Smith
1982-1983Isthmian League Division 117thB.Jones
1983-1984Isthmian League Division 116thB.Jones
1984-1985Isthmian League Division 115thB.Jones
1985-1986Isthmian League Division 111thB.Jones
1986-1987Isthmian League Division 115thB.Jones
1987-1988Isthmian League Division 116thD.Southouse
1988-1989Isthmian League Division 16thD.Southouse
1989-1990Isthmian League Division 115thChris Kilby
1990-1991Isthmian League Division 1 20thChris Kilby
1991-1992Isthmian League Division 22ndB.Donnerley
1992-1993Isthmian League Division 120thB.Donnelly
1993-1994Isthmian League Division 220thGary Allen
1994-1995Isthmian League Division 3 20thGary Allen
1995-1996Isthmian League Division 3 12thTerry Parris
1996-1997Isthmian League Division 3 11thTerry Parris
1997-1998Isthmian League Division 3 19thTerry Parris
1998-1999Isthmian League Division 3 4thJimmy Quinn
1999-2000Isthmian League Division 3 7thJimmy Quinn
2000-2001Isthmian League Division 3 2ndJimmy Quinn
 2001-2002Isthmian League Division 2 1stJimmy Quinn
2002-2003Isthmian Division 1 South3rdJimmy Quinn
 2003-2004Isthmian Division 1 South1stSteven King
2004-2005Conference South4thSteven King
2005-2006Conference South4thSteven King
2006-2007Conference South9thSteven King
 2007-2008Conference South1stSteven King
2008-2009Blue Square Premier24thKevin Keehan
2009-2010Blue Square South19thSteve Ibbotson
2010-2011Blue Square South21stSteve Ibbotson
2011-2012Isthmian League Premier Division6thSteven King
2012-2013Isthmian League Premier Division20thSimon Wormull
2013-2014Isthmian League Premier Division16thGarry Wilson

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!