Non-League Club Directory Logo

Lincoln United

Currently Playing In:

Northen Premier League Division One South


Although the club was formed in 1938,  the outbreak of war prevented ‘United’ from competitive football until The Lincolnshire League continued in 1945. However, after just one season, the club changed over to The Lincoln League, where they remained until 1960 before returning to the County competition for a further six seasons.

Steady progress was then made through The Yorkshire League until 1982 when the club joined The Northern Counties East, a progressive new competition from which a move to The Central Midlands League came four years later.

Two championships had already been won, but the nineties brought an exciting time for the club and its supporters. Under manager Allen Crombie a third place finish in 1991 was followed by the championships of Central Midlands Supreme Division and Northern Counties East Division One. This brought Premier Division football for two seasons before a third Championship in four years took the club into The Northern Premier League for the first time.

The club has already sampled a four year spell in the Premier Division from 2004-2008, but United have not found life in Division One easy as they have yet to achieve a top ten finish.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Lincoln Amateurs until 1954
Ashby Avenue, Hartsholme, Lincoln LN6 ODY
01522 696 400
Along Lincoln relief road (A46), until reaching roundabout with exit for Birchwood, Take this exit which is Skellington Road for approximately 1 mile, at 30 mph sign turn right into Ashby Avenue. Entrance to ground is 200 yards on right.
Record Attendance:
2000 v Crook Town in The FA Amateur Cup 1st Round 1968
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Northern Premier League Premier Division 1994-1995

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Yorkshire League Division One16th
1979-1980Yorkshire League Division Two10th
1980-1981Yorkshire League Division Two3rd
1981-1982Yorkshire League Division One6th
 1982-1983Northern Counties East Division One South1st
1983-1984Northern Counties East Division One South5thFred Green
1984-1985Northern Counties East Division One South11thFred Green
 1985-1986Northern Counties East Division Two1stFred Green
1986-1987Central Midlands Supreme Division 3rdFred Green
1987-1988Central Midlands Supreme Division 8thFred Green
1988-1989Central Midlands Supreme Division 12thFred Green
1989-1990Central Midlands Supreme Division 9thFred Green
1990-1991Central Midlands Supreme Division 3rdAlan Crombie
 1991-1992Central Midlands Supreme Division 1stAlan Crombie
 1992-1993Northern Counties East Division One1stAlan Crombie
1993-1994Northern Counties East Premier Division3rdGary Goddard
 1994-1995Northern Counties East Premier Division1stGary Goddard
1995-1996Northern Premier League Division One3rdGary Goddard
1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One3rdGary Goddard
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One5thGed Creane & John Wilkinson
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One4thGed Creane & John Wilkinson
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One16thJohn Wilkinson & Tony Simmons
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One15thJohn Wilkinson & Tony Simmons
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One19thAllen Crombie
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One16thGarry Goddard
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One4thJohn Wilkinson
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division14thJohn Wilkinson
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division19thJohn Wilkinson
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division15thJohn Wilkinson
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division21stJohn Ramshaw
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One South10thSeamus Lawles
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One South19thSeamus Lawles
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One South12thJohn Wilkinson
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South18thJohn Wilkinson
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One South20thTerry Fleming
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One South17thDave Frecklington

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!