Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Northern Counties East Premier Division.


Liversedge were formed before the First World War in 1910 and developed through membership of the Spen Valley League, before moving up to The West Riding County Amateur League where they played for fifty years until 1972.

Joining the Yorkshire League was a big move and they remained within the well respected competition until The Formation of the Northern Counties East was introduced with three divisions in 1982.

‘Sedge’ steadily settled down in the new structure and by their tenth season had worked their way up to the Premier Division. Three managers who enjoyed consistent spells at the club were Colin Penrose, Eugene Lacy and Eric Gilchrist who has returned for a second time in charge.

So far, the club’s form in the Premier Division has not been consistent.The most successful campaign was in 2005-2006, when they won The League Cup and second place was achieved under Eugene Lacy’s leadership, but the club’s facilities have not yet been considered appropriate for promotion.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Clayborn Ground, Quaker Lane, Hightown Road, Cleckheaton WF15 8DF
01274 862 108
Record Attendance:
986 v Thackley
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Northern Counties East Cup 20056-2006

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Yorkshire League Division Two4th
1979-1980 Yorkshire League Division One9th
1980-1981Yorkshire League Division One10th
1981-1982Yorkshire League Division One15th
1982-1983Northern Counties East Division One North8th
1983-1984Northern Counties East Division One North13th
1984-1985Northern Counties East Division One North8thMick Ferrier
1985-1986Northern Counties East Division Two10thMick Ferrier
1986-1987Northern Counties East Division Two11th
1987-1988Northern Counties East Division Two6th
1988-1989Northern Counties East Division Two2nd
1989-1990Northern Counties East Division One North2ndColin Penrose
1990-1991Northern Counties East Division One3rdColin Penrose
1991-1992Northern Counties East Premier Division14thDeryck Francis
1992-1993Northern Counties East Premier Division14thColin Penrose
1993-1994Northern Counties East Premier Division11thColin Penrose
1994-1995Northern Counties East Premier Division19thColin Penrose
1995-1996Northern Counties East Premier Division9thColin Penrose
1996-1997Northern Counties East Premier Division20thPaul Murphy
1997-1998Northern Counties East Premier Division18thJohn Story
1998-1999Northern Counties East Premier Division6thEric Gilchrist
1999-2000Northern Counties East Premier Division4thEric Gilchrist
2000-2001Northern Counties East Premier Division15thEric Gilchrist
2001-2002Northern Counties East Premier Division11thWayne Bruce
2002-2003Northern Counties East Premier Division9thWayne Bruce
2003-2004Northern Counties East Premier Division9thEugene Lacy
2004-2005Northern Counties East Premier Division6thEugene Lacy
2005-2006 Northern Counties East Premier Division2ndEugene Lacy
2006-2007Northern Counties East Premier Division12thEugene Lacy
2007-2008Northern Counties East Premier Division4thSteve Newton
2008-2009Northern Counties East Premier Division14thSteve Newton
2009-2010Northern Counties East Premier Division9thSean Regan
2010-2011Northern Counties East Premier Division17thStuart Waddington
2011-2012Northern Counties East Premier Division14thBilly Miller
2012-2013Northern Counties East Premier Division15thEric Gilchrist
2013-2014Northern Counties East Premier Division20thDavid Thompson + Alan Colquoun

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!