Non-League Club Directory Logo

Lowestoft Town

Currently Playing In:

Conference North


Lowestoft Town have one of the most impressive East Anglian football records, but after their formation in 1880 the club were loyal to The North Suffolk League until 1935. Then they won the Championship of The Eastern Counties twelve times before moving up to The Isthmian League in 2009.

‘The Blues’ do have a great tradition and back in 1900 the club enjoyed an historic run in The FA Amateur Cup finishing with a defeat to the famous Bishop Auckland club in the final. While more recently, in 2008, they reached an FA Vase Final at Wembley. Perhaps it will be third time lucky in the FA Trophy?

‘The Tractor Boys‘ really celebrated ‘the sixties‘ with six titles and the involvement of Micky Chapman, first as a player and then as a manager, has coincided with a superb run of success for the club.  Three championships have been achieved with Ady Gallagher sharing managerial duties and ‘The Tractor Boys’ have moved up from The Eastern Counties, through the Isthmian Division One, and are now challenging for a place in Conference South having already contested three play-offs . Having finished 4th, 3rd and 2nd, supporters are hoping the sequence will be completed neatly with a 1st place finish!


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Original club merged with Kirkley in 1887 to form Lowestoft and became Lowestoft Town in 1890
Crown Meadow, Love Road, Lowestoft NR32 2PA
01502 573 818
Head for Lowestoft town centre. After crossing Bascule Bridge and railway station turn right at traffic lights (sp A12 Yarmouth) into Katwyck Way. After 300 yards take 1st exit at roundabout into Raglan Street. At 'T' junction turn left into Love Road and ground is about 100 yards on right.
Record Attendance:
5,000 v Watford - FA Cup 1st Round 1967
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Isthmian League Division One North 2009-10

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

 1977-1978Eastern Counties League1stEvan Sutherland
1978-1979Eastern Counties League3rdEvan Sutherland
1979-1980Eastern Counties League7thM.Antcliffe
1980-1981Eastern Counties League8thM.Antcliffe
1981-1982Eastern Counties League13th M.Antcliffe
1982-1983Eastern Counties League7thJ.Rudd
1983-1984 Eastern Counties League4thP.Chick
1984-1985Eastern Counties League4thP.Chick
1985-1986Eastern Counties League11thP.Chick
1986-1987Eastern Counties League9thP.Chick
1987-1988Eastern Counties League8thP.Chick
1988-1989Eastern Counties League12thDave Mower
1989-1990Eastern Counties League18thDave Mower
1990-1991Eastern Counties League9thJ.Campbell
1991-1992Eastern Counties League11thJ.Campbell
1992-1993Eastern Counties League17thColwyn Rowe
1993-1994Eastern Counties League9thColwyn Rowe
1994-1995Eastern Counties League7thMicky Chapman
1995-1996Eastern Counties League14thMicky Chapman
1996-1997Eastern Counties League9thMicky Chapman
1997-1998Eastern Counties League9thMicky Chapman
1998-1999Eastern Counties League5thMicky Chapman
1999-2000Eastern Counties League5thMicky Chapman
2000-2001Eastern Counties League3rdShaun Cole
2001-2002Eastern Counties League12thMicky Chapman
2002-2003Eastern Counties League4thMicky Chapman
2003-2004Eastern Counties League8thMicky Chapman
2004-2005Eastern Counties League4thMicky Chapman
 2005-2006Eastern Counties League1stMicky Chapman
2006-2007Eastern Counties League3rdM.Chapman & Ady Gallagher
2007-2008Eastern Counties League11thM.Chapman & Ady Gallagher
 2008-2009Eastern Counties League1stM.Chapman & Ady Gallagher
 2009-2010Isthmian League Division One North1stM.Chapman & Ady Gallagher
2010-2011Isthmian League Premier Division4thM.Chapman & Ady Gallagher
2011-2012Isthmian League Premier Division3rdM.Chapman & Ady Gallagher
2012-2013Isthmian League Premier Division2ndM.Chapman & Ady Gallagher
2013-2014Isthmian League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!