Non-League Club Directory Logo

Macclesfield Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

The famous Cheshire club must surely only have happy memories of their previous non-league life. Everyone involved with the club will naturally be disappointed to have lost their Football League place, but older supporters will think back to their steady climb up The Northern Premier League which culminated in promotion to The Conference as Champions in 1987.

The club had a reputation of stability in the boardroom and when Peter Wragg helped the club to promotion into the Conference, he remained at the helm for seven years. Sammy McIlroy took over in 1993-1994 and the club had the disappointment of being turned down for promotion to the league after winning the Conference title in his second season.

Two years later all was well, as ‘The Silkmen’ took they rightful place in the Football League as Conference Champions. The club had also enjoyed the excitement of three Wembley trips. They had won the first ever FA Trophy in 1979, lost in 1989 and won again in 1996, while The FA Cup had brought great memories as a non-league club.

After fifteen years, Macclesfield Town have returned to Non-League Football and hopefully they will have as much fun as they obviously enjoyed in their last spell in The Conference.


Club Factfile

Moss Rose Stadium, London Road, Macclesfield, Cheshire SK11 7SP
01625 264686
From the North: Exit the M6 at junction 19 (Knutsford) and follow the A537 to Macclesfield. Follow the signs to the Town Centre. The ground is signposted from the Town Centre but if in doubt follow the signs towards Leek (A523) The ground is about one mile out of town on the A523. From the South: Exit the M6 at junction 17 (Sandbach) and follow the A534 to Congleton. From here take the A536 to Macclesfield (Macclesfield is signposted from the Motorway). After passing the 'Millers' pub on the left continue for about 1/4 of a mile and take the first right after the speed-camera onto Moss Lane. Follow Moss Lane until you reach the ground. From the East: Come into Macclesfield on the A537 (Careful though, it's reportedly the most dangerous road in the country). At the bottom of the hill with the station opposite turn left onto the dual carriageway. Then as above. Any Other Routes: The ground is signposted from the Town Centre but if in doubt follow the signs towards Leek (A523). The ground is about one mile out of town on the A523.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern Premier League Premier Division22nd
1978-1979Northern Premier League Premier Division23rdDerek Partridge
1979-1980Northern Premier League Premier Division8thP.Staley
1980-1981Northern Premier League Premier Division13thP.Staley
1981-1982Northern Premier League Premier Division10thB.Booth
1982-1983Northern Premier League Premier Division5thB.Booth
1983-1984Northern Premier League Premier Division6thB.Booth
1984-1985Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndB.Booth
1985-1986Northern Premier League Premier Division9thNeil Griffiths
 1986-1987Northern Premier League Premier Division1stPeter Wragg
1987-1988Football Conference11thPeter Wragg
1988-1989Football Conference7thPeter Wragg
1989-1990Football Conference4thPeter Wragg
1990-1991Football Conference7thPeter Wragg
1991-1992Football Conference13thPeter Wragg
1992-1993Football Conference18thPeter Wragg
1993-1994Football Conference7thSammy McIlroy
 1994-1995Football Conference1stSammy McIlroy
1995-1996Football Conference4thSammy McIlroy
 1996-1997Football Conference1stSammy McIlroy
1997-1998Football League Division Three2ndSammy McIlroy
1998-1999Football League Division Two24thSammy McIlroy
1999-2000Football League Division Three13thSammy McIlroy/Peter Davenport
2000-2001Football League Division Three14thPeter Davenport/Gil Prescott
2001-2002Football League Division Three13thGil Prescott/David Moss
2002-2003Football League Division Three16thDavid Moss/John Askey/Brian Horton
2003-2004Football League Division Three20thBrian Horton
2004-2005Football League Two5thBrian Horton
2005-2006Football League Two17thBrian Horton
2006-2007Football League Two22ndBrian Horton/Ian Brightwell/Paul Ince
2007-2008Football League Two19thIan Brightwell/Keith Alexander
2008-2009Football League Two20thKeith Alexander
2009-2010Football League Two19thKeith Alexander/Gary Simpson
2010-2011Football League Two15thGary Simpson
2011-2012Football League Two24thGary Simpson/Brian Horton/Glyn Chamberlain
2012-2013Conference Premier11thSteve King
2013-2014Conference Premier

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!