Non-League Club Directory Logo

Maine Road FC

Currently Playing In:

North West Counties Premier Division


A comparatively young club was formed in 1955 as ‘City Supporters Rusholme’  playing ‘friendlies’, but joined the Manchester Amateur Sunday League and changed its name to Maine Road Football Club.

Ronnie Meredith was the driving force behind the club which turned to Saturday football in the Manchester League in the Seventies.  Then, after one or two changes of ground, the
club settled in Brentingham Road and won four consecutive Manchester League titles between 1982 and 1986.

‘The Blues’ qualified for promotion into The North West Counties League in 1987 and after three seasons moved up from Division Two into Division One, where they held their place for twelve seasons before dropping down for two years.

Managers at the club have all been given time to build their squads and over the years Maine Road FC have won all five of the Manchester County Cup competitions. Chris Simms and Ian Walker have given particularly great service to the club, who only missed promotion by one point in 2012-2013 and and will be determined to go one better very soon.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Brantingham Road Chorton-cum-Hardy M21 0TT
0161 861 0344
Record Attendance:
3125 v FC United of Manchester NWC Div 1 2006 at Stalybridge.
Most Recent Senior Honour:
North West Counties Challenge Cup 2007-2008

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980Manchester League Premier Division12thRonnie Meredith
1980-1981Manchester League Premier Division11thRonnie Meredith
1981-1982Manchester League Premier Division6thRonnie Meredith
 1982-1983Manchester League Premier Division1stRonnie Meredith
 1983-1984Manchester League Premier Division1stRonnie Meredith
 1984-1985Manchester League Premier Division1stRonnie Meredith
 1985-1986Manchester League Premier Division1stRonnie Meredith
1986-1987Manchester League Premier Division2ndDerek Barber
1987-1988North West Counties Division Two5thDerek Barber
1988-1989North West Counties Division Two2ndDerek Barber
 1989-1990North West Counties Division Two1stDerek Barber
1990-1991North West Counties Division One9thDerek Barber
1991-1992North West Counties Division One16thDerek Barber
1992-1993North West Counties Division One19thDerek Barber
1993-1994North West Counties Division One13thDerek Barber
1994-1995North West Counties Division One12thDerek Barber
1995-1996North West Counties Division One15thDerek Barber
1996-1997North West Counties Division One20thDerek Barber
1997-1998North West Counties Division One11thG.Whittingham
1998-1999North West Counties Division One14thG.Whittingham
1999-2000North West Counties Division One20thG.Whittingham
2000-2001North West Counties Division One15thChris Simms
2001-2002North West Counties Division One21stChris Simms
2002-2003North West Counties Division Two3rdChris Simms
2003-2004North West Counties Division Two2ndChris Simms
2004-2005North West Counties Division One8thChris Simms
2005-2006North West Counties Division One10thChris Simms
2006-2007North West Counties Division One6thIan Walker
2007-2008North West Counties Division One4thIan Walker
2008-2009North West Counties Division One13thIan Walker
2009-2010North West Counties Division One6thIan Walker
2010-2011North West Counties Division One13thIan Walker
2011-2012North West Counties Division One18thIan Walker
2012-2013North West Counties Division One2ndIan Walker
2013-2014North West Counties Division One4th

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!