Non-League Club Directory Logo

Mangotsfield United

Altrincham Club Crest image

Situated on the outskirts of Bristol, Mangotsfield United is a comparatively young club who competed in The Bristol & District League from 1950-1967 and The Avon Premier Combination from 1967 until they joined the Western League in 1972.

Only one season was spent outside the top division, when ‘The Field’ dropped down after finishing nineteenth in 1982. Ralph Miller, the clubs longest serving manager at senior level saw his club return as runners up and a secure place in the premier division was then menjoyed until the end of the century, when United gained promotion to the Southern League as Western League Runners up.

After four seasons in the Western Division, Mangotsfield United gained promotion to The Premier level as Champions and competed as a mid table club until a disastrous campaign in 2008-2009 brought a return to the regional Division One.


Club Factfile

Cossham Street, Mangotsfield, Bristol BS16 9EN
0117 956 0119
Exit the M32 at Junction 1 and follow the A4174 towards Downend following signs to Mangotsfield. Turn left into Cossham Street, the ground is approx 300 yards on the right.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Western League Premier Division13thDoug Hillard
1979-1980Western League Premier Division18thDoug Hillard
1980-1981Western League Premier Division15thRalph Miller
1981-1982Western League Premier Division19thRalph Miller
1982-1983Western League First Division2ndRalph Miller
1983-1984Western League Premier Division13thRalph Miller
1984-1985Western League Premier Division8thRalph Miller
1985-1986Western League Premier Division6thRalph Miller
1986-1987Western League Premier Division10thRalph Miller
1987-1988Western League Premier Division3rdL.Alderman
1988-1989Western League Premier Division18thR.Wheeler
1989-1990Western League Premier Division3rdHarold Jarman
 1990-1991Western League Premier Division1stHarold Jarman
1991-1992Western League Premier Division8thHarold Jarman
1992-1993Western League Premier Division5thR.Jones
1993-1994Western League Premier Division3rdR.Jones
1994-1995Western League Premier Division6thGraham Bird & David Payne
1995-1996Western League Premier Division3rdTerry Rowles
1996-1997Western League Premier Division3rdTerry Rowles
1997-1998Western League Premier Division6thTerry Rowles
1998-1999Western League Premier Division11thTerry Rowles
1999-2000Western League Premier Division2ndNick Tanner
2000-2001Southern League Western Division5thAndy Black
2001-2002Southern League Western Division7thAndy Black
2002-2003Southern League Western Division6thAndy Black
2003-2004Southern League Western Division13thAndy Black
 2004-2005Southern League Western Division1stMartyn Grimshaw
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division10thMartyn Grimshaw
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division9thLee Howells
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division14thFrank Gregan
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division22ndPaul MIlsom
2009-2010Southern League Division One S & W9thPhil Bater
2010-2011Southern League Division One S &W3rdPhil Bater
2011-2012Southern League Division One S & W14thPhil Bater
2012-2013Southern League Division One S & W13thRichard Thompson
2013-2014Southern League Division One S & W11thRichard Thompson

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!