Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Southern League Division One Central


One of the oldest football clubs in the country, Marlow were originally formed in 1870 as Great Marlow and then spent their formative years developing in The Reading & District League before enjoying two spells in The Spartan League and a period in The Great Western Suburban League before settling in The Athenian League in 1965.

A history making FA Cup run in 1881-1882 was only halted in the Semi-Final and their best modern Cup run took them to the Third Round in 1993, where they lost to Tottenham Hotspur.

Marlow joined the Isthmian League when the Athenian competition closed down in 1985 and then after League re-organization in 2004, the Buckinghamshire club moved across to compete in the Southern League. After four steady campaigns Marlow found life in the Midland section tougher and in 2012 after finishing at the foot of the table, dropped down to The Hellenic League where a superb season was rewarded with the championship and promotion back to The Southern League.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Great Marlow
Alfred Davies Memorial Ground, Oak Tree Road, Marlow SL7 3ED
01628 483 970
Record Attendance:
3000 v Oxford United FA Cup 1st Round 1994
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Berks & Bucks Senior Cup

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Athenian League8thP.Jarratt
1978-1979Athenian League15thP.Jarratt
1979-1980 Athenian League9thP.Jarratt
1980-1981Athenian League18thBarry Wanless
1981-1982Athenian League11thBarry Wanless
1982-1983Athenian League4thJohn Clements
1983-1984Athenian League8thJohn Clements
1984-1985Athenian League7thMike Keen
1985-1986Isthmian Division Two South20thMike Keen
1986-1987Isthmian Division Two South 2ndMike Keen
 1987-1988Isthmian Division One 1stMike Keen
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division20thMike Keen
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier Division17thDave Russell
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier Division7thDave Russell
1991-1992Isthmian League Premier Division6thDave Russell
1992-1993Isthmian League Premier Division15thDave Russell
1993-1994Isthmian League Premier Division3rdPeter Foley
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier Division21stPeter Foley
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One8thPeter Rhodes-Brown
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One21stPeter Rhodes-Brown
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Two14thDave Russell
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Two13thGraham Pritchard
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Two8thGraham Pritchard
2000-2001Isthmian League Division Two14thGraham Pritchard
2001-2002Isthmian League Division Two9thGraham Pritchard
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One North11thDerek Sweetman
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One South16thDerek Sweetman
2004-2005Southern League Division One West13thTim Cook
2005-2006 Southern League Division One West6thKevin Stone
2006-2007Southern League Division One S&W7thKevin Stone
2007-2008Southern League Division One S&W9thKevin Stone
2008-2009Southern League Division One Midlands9thKevin Stone
2009-2010Southern League Division One Midlands15thKevin Stone
2010-2011Southern League Division One Central11thKevin Stone
2011-2012Southern League Division One Central22ndKevin Stone
2012-2013Hellenic League Premier Division1stMark Bartley
2013-2014Southern League Division One Central17thMark Bartley

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!