Non-League Club Directory Logo

Matlock Town

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Premier Division

Altrincham Club Crest image

A well established Derbyshire club, Matlock Town were formed in 1885 and experienced competitive football in a variety of local leagues before settling in The Northern Premier League.

Since the Second World War ‘The Gladiators’ competed in:

Chesterfield & District League 1946-1947
Central Alliance 1947-1961
Midland Counties 1961-1969

Joining the Northern Premier League in its second season, Matlock Town have been ever present ever since, with a 4-0 victory over Scarborough in an FA Trophy Final at Wembley in 1974-1975 being a highlight and a spell in Division One from 1997 to 2004 proving to be a difficult time.

Having been back in The Premier Division nine seasons, supporters will hoping it will be Matlock’s turn to win the title and go one better than their second place finish in 1984.


Club Factfile

Reynolds Stadium, Causeway Lane, Matlock, Derbyshire
01629 583 866
Website Address:
On A615, ground is 500 yards from Town Centre and Matlock BR. Sat Nav users should enter DE4 3AR
Record Attendance:
5123 v Burton Albion FA Trophy 1975
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Derbyshire Senior Cup 2000-2001

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern Premier League10thTom Fenoughty
1978-1979Northern Premier League3rdTom Fenoughty
1979-1980Northern Premier League5thTom Fenoughty
1980-1981Northern Premier League15thTom Fenoughty
1981-1982Northern Premier League21stTom Fenoughty
1982-1983Northern Premier League10thTom Fenoughty
1983-1984Northern Premier League2ndMick Fenoughty
1984-1985Northern Premier League12thMick Fenoughty
1985-1986Northern Premier League21stMick Fenoughty
1986-1987Northern Premier League7thE.Oliver
1987-1988Northern Premier League Premier Division19thE.Oliver
1988-1989Northern Premier League Premier Division13thD.Pugh
1989-1990Northern Premier League Premier Division6thD.Pugh
1990-1991Northern Premier League Premier Division17thDave Wilton
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division19thDave Wilton
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division15thRon Reid
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division14thRon Reid
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division14thDavid Vaughan
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndDavid Vaughan
1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One11thImre Varadi
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One14thTommy Spencer
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One17thTommy Spencer
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One7thGarry Marrow
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One12thGarry Marrow
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One14thTommy Spencer
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One8thErnie Moss
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One2ndErnie Moss
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division11thErnie Moss
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division9thPhil Brown & Gareth Williams
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division5thPhil Brown & Gareth Williams
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division16thPhil Brown & Gareth Williams
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division15thPhil Brown & Gareth Williams
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division7thMark Atkins
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division11thMark Atkins
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division14thMark Atkins
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division17thMark Atkins
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division12thMark Atkins

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!