Non-League Club Directory Logo

Merthyr Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Division One South West


A famous Welsh club were known as Merthyr Tydfil for much of its history but after financial problems that took the club back three levels in 2009, a spirited revival is underway and it will be no surprise if the traditional Welsh spirit inspires Merthyr Town to bounce back and challenge the best.

The old club had played in The Football League, The Football Conference and represented Wales in European competitions against glamourous opposition. The next ambition for the new regime is to work their way into The Southern Premier Division and support in the town is as loyal as ever.

Merthyr Town achieved immediate championships in their first two seasons in their ‘comeback’, storming through The Western League divisions and into a challenging position in the Southern League Division One where the play-offs of course give the top five clubs the chance of promotion.  Their 2013 Play-Off final was lost, but There are exciting seasons ahead for ‘The Martyrs.’


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Merthyr Tydfil
Penydarren Park, Park Terrace, Merthyr TYdfil CF47 8RF
07980 363 675
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Western League Premier Division Champions 2011-2012

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One North2ndDoug Evans
1979-1980Southern League Midland Division5thDave Rosser
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division14thDave Rosser
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division11thDave Rosser
1982-1983Southern League Midland Division4thIan Docherty
1983-1984Southern League Midland Division8thIan Docherty
1984-1985Southern League Midland Division12thFred Davies
1985-1986Southern League Midland Division3rdLyn Jones
1986-1987Southern League Midland Division3rdLyn Jones
 1987-1988Southern League Midland Division1stLyn Jones
 1988-1989Southern League Premier Division1stLyn Jones
1989-1990GM Vauxhall Conference9thLyn Jones
1990-1991GM Vauxhall Conference9thLyn Jones
1991-1992GM Vauxhall Conference4thWynford Hopkins
1992-1993GM Vauxhall Conference16thWynford Hopkins
1993-1994GM Vauxhall Conference20thWynford Hopkins
1994-1995GM Vauxhall Conference20thWynford Hopkins
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division7thLyn Jones
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division9thLyn Jones
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division2ndGerald Aplin
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division15thColin Addison
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division17thRoger Gibbins
2000-2001Southern League Premier Division18thKeith Walker
2001-2002Southern League Premier Division21stJohn Lewis
 2002-2003Southern League Western Division One1stAndy Beattie
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division14thAndy Beattie
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division3rdJohn Relish
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division9thTim Harris
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division12thPaul Sugrue
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division13thGarry Shephard
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division7thGarry Shephard
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division17thGarry Shephard
 2010-2011Western League Division One1stGarry Shephard
 2011-2012Western League Premier Division1stGarry Shephard
2012-2013Southern League Division One S W3rdGarry Shephard
2013-2014Southern League Division One S W2ndGarry Shepherd

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!