Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Football League Division Two


Competitive football for Morecambe F C began in 1920 in the Lancashire Combination and the club remained in county football until becoming founder members of the Northern Premier League in 1968. After an excellent third place in the first campaign, Morecambe took their time to join the challengers at the top of the league and it wasn’t until the mid eighties that, under the management of Joe Wojciechowicz and Bryan Griffiths, that top ten finishes were achieved.

In fact three consecutive third place finishes in the early nineties, prepared the club for a serious championship challenge which was finally completed as runners-up in 1995 when champions Marine’s ground wasn’t considered up to Conference standard.

Jim Harvey led the club through eleven exciting Conference years with only two finishes outside the top ten. Sadly, ill health had forced him to hand over to Sammy McIlroy when the club achieved its great ambition by winning the play off final in 2007. Morecambe moved up proudly to take their place in The Football League with their splendid new home at The Globe Arena.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Globe Arena, Christie Way, Westgate, Morecambe LA4 4TB
01524 598 393
Website Address:
Record Attendance:
9,383 v Weymouth FA Cup 3rd Rd 6th Jan 1962 (at Christie Park) and 5,003 v Burnley Lg Cup 2010 (Globe Arena)
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Lancashire Junior Cup Winners 2004

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern Premier League Premier Division21stM.Hoggarth
1978-1979Northern Premier League Premier Division19thM.Hoggarth
1979-1980Northern Premier League Premier Division17thM.Hoggarth
1980-1981Northern Premier League Premier Division21stD.Cubbage
1981-1982Northern Premier League Premier Division20thD.Cubbage
1982-1983Northern Premier League Premier Division13thLes Rigby
1983-1984Northern Premier League Premier Division19thLes Rigby
1984-1985Northern Premier League Premier Division17thS.Gallacher
1985-1986Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdJoe Wojciechowicz
1986-1987Northern Premier League Premier Division6thJoe Wojciechowicz
1987-1988Northern Premier League Premier Division4thJoe Wojciechowicz
1988-1989Northern Premier League Premier Division16thEric Whalley/Billy Wright
1989-1990Northern Premier League Premier Division15thLawrie Milligan
1990-1991Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdBryan Griffiths
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdBryan Griffiths
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdBryan Griffiths
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division7thBryan Griffiths/Leighton James
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndJim Harvey
1995-1996Football Conference9thJim Harvey
1996-1997Football Conference4thJim Harvey
1997-1998Football Conference5thJim Harvey
1998-1999Football Conference14thJim Harvey
1999-2000Football Conference3rdJim Harvey
2000-2001Football Conference19thJim Harvey
2001-2002Football Conference6thJim Harvey
2002-2003Football Conference2ndJim Harvey
2003-2004Football Conference7thJim Harvey
2004-2005Football Conference7thJim Harvey
2005-2006Football Conference5thJim Harvey/Sammy McIlroy
2006-2007Football Conference3rdSammy McIlroy
2007-2008Football League Division Two11thSammy McIlroy
2008-2009Football League Division Two11thSammy McIlroy
2009-2010Football League Division Two4thSammy McIlroy
2010-2011Football League Division Two20thSammy McIlroy
2011-2012Football League Division Two15thJim Bentley
2012-2013Football League Division Two16thJim Bentley
2013-2014Football League Division TwoJim Bentley

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!