Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

Formed in 1903 as Park Villa, the club also played under the title of Mossley Juniors and worked through the local leagues from Ashton, South East Lancashire and Lancashire Combination before joining the Cheshire County League in 1919.

Mossley Football Club was admitted to The Northern Premier League in 1972 and from 1979 enjoyed a glorious five year period in which the championship was won twice, followed by three consecutive seasons as runners up, all under the leadership of manager Bob Murphy.

In 1995 ‘The Lilywhites’ dropped down to Division one and the slide continued two years later when Mossley were relegated into The North West Counties League, where they stayed for nine years with a different manager every season.

Benny Phillips steadied the club with seven years as manager and but it was Jason Beckford who took the club back to the Northern Premier League, where they have settled and performed consistently in Division One.


Club Factfile

Seel Park, Market Street, Mossley, Lancashire OL5 0ES
01457 832 369
Exit M60 Junction 23 following A635 Ashton-under-Lyne. Take 3rd exit off roundabout then 3rd exit off next roundabout (Asda) and then 3rd exit off next roundabout signed Mossley A670. At junction turn right on to Mossley Rd through traffic lights. After approx 2.5 miles drop down hill entering Mossley town centre. Passing supermarket on left turn right before next traffic lights. Continue up the hill and left into Market Street. Ground is approx 200 yards on the left.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

 1978-1979Northern Premier League1stBob Murphy
 1979-1980Northern Premier League1stBob Murphy
1980-1981Northern Premier League2ndBob Murphy
1981-1982Northern Premier League2ndBob Murphy
1982-1983Northern Premier League2ndBob Murphy
1983-1984Northern Premier League22ndBob Murphy/Brian Grundy
1984-1985Northern Premier League14thBrian Grundy
1985-1986Northern Premier League12th
1986-1987Northern Premier League9th
1987-1988Northern Premier League Premier Division17thJohn Sainty
1988-1989Northern Premier League Premier Division10thKeith Hicks
1989-1990 Northern Premier League Premier Division18thBryan Griffiths
1990-1991Northern Premier League Premier Division15thMark Hilton
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division16thLes Sutton
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division21stGed Coyne
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One17thSteve Taylor
1994-1995Northern Premier League Division One22ndRichard Dawson
1995-1996North West Counties Division One4thPaul Cuddy & Kevan Keelan
1996-1997North West Counties Division One7thKevan Keelan
1997-1998North West Counties Division One9thBenny Phillips
1998-1999North West Counties Division One3rdBenny Phillips
1999-2000North West Counties Division One4thBenny Phillips
2000-2001North West Counties Division One10thBenny Phillips
2001-2002North West Counties Division One8thBenny Phillips
2002-2003North West Counties Division One3rdBenny Phillips
2003-2004North West Counties Division One2ndBenny Phillips
2004-2005Northern Premier League Divison One7thJason Beckford
 2005-2006Northern Premier League Divison One1stJason Beckford
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division20thJason Beckford
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One North15thGerry Quinn
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One North10thChris Wilcock
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One North7thChris Wilcock
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One North15thShaun Higgins
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One North14thGareth McClelland
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One North5thSteve Halford
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One North15thPeter Band + Lloyd Morrison

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!