Non-League Club Directory Logo


The first Newbury club was formed as Newbury Town in 1887. Their first competitive experience came in The Great Western League in which they played between 1904 and 1927. This was followed by spells, briefly in The Hampshire League, and then in the Reading competition until joining The Metropolitan League and on to The Hellenic League in 1962.

One of the best spells to have been enjoyed by Newbury Town was under Manager Dave Tune, when The Hellenic League Championship was won twice. The club then passed through, and won the title in The Athenian League and joined the famous Isthmian League for a ten year stretch that finished with the championship of Division Two.

However, this seemed to be the last positive achievement, as off field problems quickly forced the club to disband and a place in The Hampshire League was found for a new AFC Newbury. The developing Wessex League quickly accepted then and consistent results over ten years looked to be encouraging, but sadly once again financial and ground problems brought the club to a standstill.

This time a local Reading League club with the original name of ‘Old London Apprentices FC‘  changed their name to Newbury Football Club, took over responsibilities for Newbury’s Youth teams and also looked after the Faraday Road ground. Promotion back into The Hellenic League was quickly achieved and with a Premier Division place won in 2012, the new Newbury has sights on moving up the Non-League ‘pyramid once again.


Club Factfile


Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

As Newbury Town
1977-1978Hellenic League Premier Division2ndDave Tune
 1978-1979Hellenic League Premier Division1stDave Tune
1979-1980Hellenic League Premier Division8thDave Tune
 1980-1981Hellenic League Premier Division1stDave Tune
1981-1982Hellenic League Premier Division4thDave Tune
 1982-1983Athenian League1stJohn Murray
1983-1984Isthmian League Division Two16thJohn Murray
1984-1985Isthmian League Division Two South18thJimmy Kelman
1985-1986Isthmian League Division Two South4thJimmy Kelman
1986-1987Isthmian League Division Two South20thIan Crossley
1987-1988Isthmian League Division Two South18thSteve Mellor
1988-1989Isthmian League Division Two South19thSteve Mellor
1989-1990Isthmian League Division Two South7thSteve Mellor
1990-1991Isthmian League Division Two South8thSteve Mellor
1991-1992Isthmian League Division Two South22ndSteve Mellor
1992-1993Isthmian League Division Two9thJohn Griffith
 1993-1994Isthmian League Division Two1stMartin Deaner
1994-1995Isthmian League Division One20thMartin Deaner
1995-1996Newbury Town disbanded
As AFC Newbury
1996-1997Hampshire League 2ndJimmy Greenwood
1997-1998Wessex League3rdJimmy Greenwood
1998-1999Wessex League3rdJimmy Greenwood
1999-2000Wessex League8thJimmy Greenwood
2000-2001Wessex League12thJimmy Greenwood
2001-2002Wessex League7thAndy Lyne
2002-2003Wessex League12thAndy Lyne
2003-2004Wessex League Division One5thGuy Whittingham
2004-2005Wessex League Division One6thGuy Whittingham
2005-2006Wessex League Premier Division19thGuy Whittingham
2006-2007Wessex League Division ThreeGuy Whittingham
2006-2007AFC Newbury disbanded
As Newbury FC
2007-2008Hampshire League
2008-2009Hellenic League Division One East3rdSteve Melledew
2009-2010Hellenic League Division One East16thSteve Melledew
2010-2011Hellenic League Division One East3rdSteve Melledew
2011-2012Hellenic League Division One East1stSteve Melledew
2012-2013Hellenic League Premier Division15thSteve Melledew
2013-2014Hellenic League Premier Division19thSteve Melledew

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!