Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Southern league Division One Central


Eighty years after their formation in 1899 Northwood Football Club joined the Hellenic Football League with a view to moving steadily up the non-league pyramid. The club had spent its formative years in the local Harrow & Wembley and Middlesex Leagues and their stay in the Oxford based Hellenic League only lasted five seasons.

The club returned to the London area to join The Spartan League in 1984 and enjoyed eight successful years with promotion to The Isthmian League achieved as Spartan Champions in 1992.

It took ‘Woods’ eleven years to reach the Premier Division, but they never finished outside the top ten. The successful manager was Tony Choules, but the club found Premier Division football tough and since the new century, the club has swapped leagues three times between the Isthmian and Southern competitions under the leadership of six managers.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Northwood Town
Northwood Park, Chestnut Avenue, Northwood, Middlesex HA6 1HR
01923 827 148
M25 Junction 18 take A404 through Rickmansworth to Northwood. After passing under grey railway bridge, take first right into Chestnut Avenue. Football Ground is in grounds of Northwood Park and entrance is 400 metres on left. Ground is 20 minutes from Junction 18.
Record Attendance:
0642 v Chelsea Friendly 1997
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Isthmian League Division One North 2002-2003

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1980-1981Hellenic League Premier Division12th
1981-1982Hellenic League Premier Division13th
1982-1983Hellenic League Premier Division9thD.Hamilton
1983-1984Hellenic League Premier Division13thP.Coburn
1984-1985London Spartan Premier Division6thP.Coburn
1985-1986London Spartan Premier Division8thP.Coburn
1986-1987London Spartan Premier Division7thP.Coburn
1987-1988London Spartan Premier Division12thP.Coburn
1988-1989London Spartan Premier Division3rdP.Coburn
1989-1990London Spartan Premier Division2ndP.Coburn
1990-1991London Spartan Premier Division3rdAlan Merison
1991-1992London Spartan Premier Division1stAlan Merison
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One 6thAlan Merison
1993-1994Isthmian League Division Three 9thAlan Merison
1994-1995Isthmian League Division Three 4thJohn Walsh
1995-1996Isthmian League Division Three 6thJohn Walsh
1996-1997Isthmian League Division Three 3rdSteve Emmanual
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Three 9thSteve Emmanual
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Two 7thTony Choules
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Two 2ndTony Choules
2000-2001Isthmian League Division One 8thTony Choules
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One 5thTony Choules
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One North1stTony Choules
2003-2004Isthmian League Premier Division21stTony Choules
2004-2005Isthmian League Premier Division17thTony Choules
2005-2006 Southern League Premier Division19thMatt Harvey
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division22ndColin Payne
2007-2008Isthmian Division One North10thColin Payne
2008-2009Isthmian Division One North6thColin Payne
2009-2010Isthmian Division One North10thDave Anderson
2010-2011Southern League Division One Central20thMark Barnham
2011-2012Southern League Division One Central7thGary Meakin
2012-2013Southern League Division One Central13thGary Meakin
2013-2014Southern League Division One Central9thMark Burgess

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!