Non-League Club Directory Logo

Ossett Town

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Division One North


Being formed just before the Second World War gave the club seniority in the town’s football pecking order, but after competing in The Leeds League for the three pre-war campaigns, the club joined the Yorkshire League when competitive football was revived in 1945.

During their time in the County league rivalry developed with neighbours ‘Albion’ and both clubs moved on to The Northern Counties East in 1983. ‘Town’s ground facilities gave them a vital advantage however and in 1999, despite coming second to Albion in the league, they won the vote for promotion to The Northern Premier League.

Under the managerial guidance of Gary Brook,‘Town’ finished second after three seasons in the top half of the division, then after a league reorganization in 2004, the club were placed in the NPL Premier Division, where after seven tough competitive campaigns Ossett Town renewed their rivalry with Albion by returning to Division One.


Club Factfile

Ingfield, Prospect Road, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9HA
01924 280 028
Record Attendance:
2,600 v Manchester United Friendly 1989
Most Recent Senior Honour:
West Riding County Cup

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Yorkshire League Division One6th
1979-1980Yorkshire League Division One14th
1980-1981Yorkshire League Division Two12th
1981-1982Yorkshire League Division Two2nd
1982-1983Northern Counties East Division One North6th
1983-1984Northern Counties East Division One North14th
1984-1985Northern Counties East Division One Central8th
1985-1986Northern Counties East Division Two14th
1986-1987Northern Counties East Division Two10th
1987-1988Northern Counties East Division Two4th
1988-1989Northern Counties East Division Two1st
1989-1990Northern Counties East Division One3rdMick Bullock
1990-1991Northern Counties East Premier Division8thMick Bullock
1991-1992Northern Counties East Premier Division12thMick Bullock
1992-1993Northern Counties East Premier Division12thDave Leadbetter
1993-1994Northern Counties East Premier Division16thAlistair Millar
1994-1995Northern Counties East Premier Division12thWayne Day
1995-1996Northern Counties East Premier Division14thWayne Day
1996-1997Northern Counties East Premier Division8thTrevor Best
1997-1998Northern Counties East Premier Division7thTrevor Best
1998-1999Northern Counties East Premier Division2ndTrevor Best
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One 8thGary Brook
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One 8thGary Brook
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One 2ndGary Brook
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One 20thGary Brook
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One 14thGary Brook
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division 16thGary Brook
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division 11thGary Brook
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division 10thSteve Richards
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division 18thSteve Kittrick
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division 12thSimon Collins
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division 19thSimon Collins
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division 21stPhilip Sharp
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One North17thPhilip Sharp
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One North 12thCraig Elliott
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One North 8th

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!