Non-League Club Directory Logo

Paulton Rovers

Situated in a Somerset village and formed in 1881 the club’s footballing life has always been based around local league football, varying between The Somerset County League and The Western League.

With an excellent ground and superb social facilities Rovers are a popular club for local players and since 1974 have competed in the Premier Division for all but three years until they won promotion to The Southern League in 2004, after twelve consecutive top ten finishes.

In general, Rovers have adapted to Southern League football with only one difficult year, finishing seventeenth in 2006, but storming back in the following season to finish as runners up in Andy Jones first season as manager.

Rovers enjoyed an exciting FA Cup run in 2009-2010 and seem to have settled comfortably at Southern Division One level, with six top ten finishes in nine years.


Club Factfile

Athletic Ground, Winterfield Road, Paulton, Bristol BS39 7RF
01761 412 907
From A39 at Farrington Gurney, follow A362 marked Radstock for two miles. Turn left at roundabout, take B3355 to Paulton and ground is on the right.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Western League Premier Division8thClive Herron
1978-1979Western League Premier Division9thClive Herron
1979-1980Western League Premier Division19thClive Herron
1980-1981Western League Premier Division19thS.Risdale
1981-1982 Western League First Division7thL Alderman
1982-1983Western League First Division3rdL Alderman
1983-1984Western League First Division3rdKim.Book
1984-1985Western League Premier Division5thKim Book
1985-1986Western League Premier Division19thKim Book
1986-1987Western League Premier Division16thKim.Book
1987-1988Western League Premier Division14thMalcolm Beck
1988-1989Western League Premier Division8thT.Gillard
1989-1990Western League Premier Division11thT.Gillard
1990-1991Western League Premier Division10thSteve Gay
1991-1992Western League Premier Division10thSteve Gay
1992-1993Western League Premier Division8thSteve Gay
1993-1994Western League Premier Division4thSteve Gay
1994-1995Western League Premier Division7thDave King
1995-1996Western League Premier Division8thDave King
1996-1997Western League Premier Division4thJohn Goss
1997-1998 Western League Premier Division5thJohn Goss
1998-1999Western League Premier Division5thJohn Goss
1999-2000Western League Premier Division5thAlan Pridham
2000-2001Western League Premier Division3rdAlan Pridham
2001-2002Western League Premier Division7thAlan Pridham
2002-2003Western League Premier Division5thPaul Hirons
2003-2004Western League Premier Division2ndDarren Perrin
2004-2005Southern League Division One S W8thDarren Perrin
2005-2006Southern League Division One West17thDarren Perrin
2006-2007Southern League Division One S&W2ndAndy Jones
2007-2008Southern League Division One S&W7thAndy Jones
2008-2009Southern League Division One S&W10thAndy Jones
2009-2010Southern League Division One S&W7thAndy Jones
2010-2011Southern League Division One S&W11thAndy Jones
2011-2012Southern League Division One S&W7thMark Harrington
2012-2013Southern League Division One S&W5thNick Bunyard
2013-2014Southern League Division One S&W

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!