Non-League Club Directory Logo

Poole Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Premier Division


The town of Poole in Hampshire have supported football clubs since 1880 and The Rovers and The Hornets combined to form Poole Town in 1890. Apart from playing as
Poole St Mary’s in 1919-1920 the Poole Town club have worked hard to work their way up the non-league pyramid despite losing their original ground.

The majority of ‘The Dolphins’ history has been involved with the Southern League, although during constant membership between 1957 and 1996 the club’s spells in the Premier Division in recent years have been short.

Pool Town left their traditional home in 1996 and a brave re-building policy saw the club enjoy a competitive spell in The Hampshire League. A move into the comparatively modern Wessex League was highlighted by three consecutive championships which led to a return to the Southern League in 2011.

Under the impressive leadership of long serving manager Tommy Killick. As favourites, Poole Town won promotion to the Premier Division in 2013, but the club has to work hard on the ground to meet the standards of the Premier Division.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Poole Rovers1884, Poole Hornets 1896, merger in 1890 to be Poole Town and Poole & St Mary's 1919-20
Tatnam Ground, Oakdale ~SChool, School Lane, Poole BH15 3JR
07771 604 289 (Match days only)
Record Attendance:
10,224 v Q.P.R. FA Cup 1st Rd replay 1946 (at Poole Stadium)
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Champions Southern League Division One South West

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One South6thRoger Bazeley
1979-1980Southern League Southern Division14thRoger Bazeley
1980-1981Southern League Southern Division8thRoger Bazeley
1981-1982Southern League Southern Division6thRoger Bazeley
1982-1983Southern League Premier Division19thRoger Bazeley
1983-1984Southern League Southern Division6thRoger Bazeley
1984-1985Southern League Southern Division3rdRoger Bazeley
1985-1986Southern League Southern Division17thRoger Bazeley
1986-1987Southern League Southern Division18thNeil Merrick
1987-1988Southern League Southern Division14thPeter Sillett
1988-1989Southern League Southern Division3rdPeter Sillett
1989-1990Southern League Southern Division2ndPaul Arnold
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division17thPaul Arnold
1991-1992Southern League Premier Division20thPaul Arnold
1992-1993Southern League Southern Division14thBrian Chambers
1993-1994Southern League Southern Division15thBrian Chambers
1994-1995Southern League Southern Division20thKeith Miller
1995-1996Southern League Southern Division22ndKeith Miller
1996-1997Hampshire League Division One12thTrevor Parker
1997-1998Hampshire League Division One3rdTrevor Parker
1998-1999Hampshire League Division One2ndTrevor Parker & Peter Moore
 1999-2000Hampshire League Division One1stPeter Moore
2000-2001Hampshire League Premier Division2nd
2001-2002Hampshire League Premier Division5thPaul Morrell
2002-2003Hampshire League Premier Division4thPaul Morrell & Dean Mooney
2003-2004Hampshire League Premier Division3rdPaul Morrell & Dean Mooney
2004-2005Wessex League Division Two2ndTommy Killick
2005-2006Wessex League Premier Division8thTommy Killick
2006-2007Wessex League Premier Division4thTommy Killick
2007-2008Wessex League Premier Division4thTommy Killick
 2008-2009Wessex League Premier Division1stTommy Killick
 2009-2010Wessex League Premier Division1stTommy Killick
 2010-2011Wessex League Premier Division1stTommy Killick
2011-2012Southern League Division One SW2ndTommy Killick
 2012-2013Southern League Division One SW1stTommy Killick
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division8thTommy Killick

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!