Non-League Club Directory Logo

Potters Bar Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Division One Central


A relatively young football club, Potters Bar Town joined the Barnet & District League when they were formed in 1960 and remained in the competition for five years. Two three year spells in The North London Combination and The Herts Senior County League followed, but in 1991 a move up to the Spartan South Midlands League saw the club take a further three campaigns to settle at this more senior level.

However, from 1995 onwards, Potters Bar became a power in the competition and under the managerial guidance of Ray Kiertensen and Micky Darling, the championship was won in 1997 and the club was only once out of the top four before winning a second title, and this time promotion toThe Southern League in 2005.

After one season, a geographical switch to The Isthmian Division One North brought less travelling but so far Potters Bar Town have failed to achieve a top ten finish although a steady improvement has been achieved under manager Adam Lee.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
The South Mimms Travel Stadium, Parkfield, Watkins Rise, Potters Bar EN6 1QN
01707 654 833
M25 junction 24 enter Potters Bar along Southgate Road (A111) turn right into High Street at first light( (A1000) then left into 'The Walk' after half a mile. Ground is 200 yards on the right-opposite Potters Bar Cricket Club
Record Attendance:
268 v Wealdstone FA Cup 1998 and 4,000 attended a charity match in 1997
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Spartan South Midlands Premier League Champions in 2004-2005

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1992-1993South Midlands League Premier Division13thAlan Bolt
1993-1994South Midlands League Premier Division14thAlan Bolt
1994-1995South Midlands League Premier Division6thJohn Harding
1995-1996South Midlands League Premier Division9thJohn Harding
 1996-1997South Midlands League Premier Division1stRay Kierstenson
1997-1998Spartan South Midlands Premier Div. North2ndR Kierstenson & Micky Darking
1998-1999Spartan South Midlands Premier Division2ndR Kierstenson & Micky Darking
1999-2000Spartan South Midlands Premier Division4thDave Whitehead
2000-2001Spartan South Midlands Premier Division3rdDave Whitehead
2001-2002Spartan South Midlands Premier Division13thJon Meakes
2002-2003Spartan South Midlands Premier Division3rdJon Meakes
2003-2004Spartan South Midlands Premier Division4thSteve Smart
 2004-2005Spartan South Midlands Premier Division1stSteve Smart
2005-2006Southern League Division One East15thKevin Lucas
2006-2007Isthmian League Division One North14thAndy Leese
2007-2008Isthmian League Division One North17thSteve Browne
2008-2009Isthmian League Division One North19thSteve Browne
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One North14thAdam Lee
2010-2011Isthmian League Division One North13thAdam Lee
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One North12thAdam Lee
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One North12thAdam Lee
2013-2014Southern League Division One Central15thJack Friend

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!