Non-League Club Directory Logo

Prescot Cables

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Division One North


One of the oldest clubs in Lancashire, the Prescot club have a great tradition, although changing their title over the years, this Liverpool club has always had a loyal following.

Early years were contested in The Liverpool County Combination, The Lancashire Combination for four separate spells, The Mid Cheshire League for just two seasons and The Cheshire County for four, before settling down with new The North West Counties League.

After the first six years at this level ‘The Tigers’ finished in the top ten in eleven of their next thirteen seasons, then in 2003, by winning The North West Counties Championship Prescott Cables proudly took their place in The Northern Premier League.

Their timing was ideal, as a twelfth place finish in their first Division One season enabled them to take their place in The Premier Division. After the 2004 re-forming of the leagues a short spell was enjoyed in The Premier Division, but the club is still settling within The Northern Premier League levels.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Prescot until 1995
Valerie Park, Eaton Street, Prescot L34 6HD
0151 430 0507
Record Attendance:
8,122 v Ashton National 1932
Most Recent Senior Honour:
North West Counties League Division One Champions 2002 -2003

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Cheshire County League Division Two3rdD.Smith
 1979-1980 Cheshire County League Division Two1stD.Smith
As Prescot Cables
1980-1981Cheshire County League Division One8thD.Smith
1981-1982Cheshire County League Division One9thD.Malone
1982-1983North West Counties Division One15thD.Malone
As Prescot AFC
1983-1984North West Counties Division One10thG.Tansey
1984-1985North West Counties Division One13thG.Tansey
As Prescot Cables
1985-1986North West Counties Division One19thAlan Quinn
1986-1987North West Counties Division Two14thBill Hennesey
1987-1988North West Counties Division One12thBill Hennesey
1988-1989North West Counties Division One15thDave Shannon
1989-1990North West Counties Division One10thDave Shannon
1990-1991North West Counties Division One6thDave Shannon
1991-1992North West Counties Division One5thDave Shannon
1992-1993North West Counties Division One4thJoe Gibiliru
1993-1994North West Counties Division One12thJoe Gibiliru
1994-1995North West Counties Division One9thJoe Gibiliru
1995-1996North West Counties Division One10thJoe Gibiliru
1996-1997North West Counties Division One9thJoe Gibiliru
1997-1998North West Counties Division One7thArthur McCumiskey
1998-1999North West Counties Division One7thArthur McCumiskey
1999-2000North West Counties Division One8thArthur McCumiskey
2000-2001North West Counties Division One8thTommy Lawson
2001-2002North West Counties Division One2ndTommy Lawson
 2002-2003North West Counties Division One1stTommy Lawson
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One12thTommy Lawson
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division5thTommy Lawson
2005-2006 Northern Premier League Premier Division14thAndy Gray
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division13thAndy Gray
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndAndy Gray
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One North15thJoe Gibiliru
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One North15thJoe Gibiliru
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One North21stJoe Gibiliru
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One North16thDavid Rdler
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One North17thDavid Powell
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One North20thDavid Powell
2014-2015Northern Premier League Division One NorthNeil Prince

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!