Non-League Club Directory Logo

Radcliffe Borough

Altrincham Club Crest image

A relatively young club, Radcliffe developed in the North West regional competitions, playing in The South East Lancashire and Manchester Leagues until joining The Lancashire Combination in 1963.

In 1971 they joined The Cheshire County League and after some tough seasons the clubs reputation and steady improvement saw them welcomed into The North West Counties where, under the guidance of manager Dave Morris, ‘Boro’ gained promotion from Division Two and then within two seasons won Division One.

In 1987 Radcliffe Borough joined the The Northern Premier League Division Two and have never left the N.P.L since.  Long serving manager Kevin Glendon guided the club to a fine run of eight top ten campaigns in Division One and a season in the Premier between 1994 and 2003, but although the club have competed in Northern Premier Division One North for six seasons, top ten finishes now appear to be more difficult to achieve.


Club Factfile

Stainton Park, Pilkington Road, Radcliffe, Lancashire M26 3PE
0161 724 8346
M62 junction 17 – follow signs for ‘Whitefield’ and ‘Bury’. Take A665 to Radcliffe via by-pass to Bolton Road. Signposted to turn right into Unsworth Street opposite Turf Hotel. The Stadium is on the left approximately half a mile turning Colshaw Close East.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Cheshire County League Division One20thRoy Freeman
1979-1980Cheshire County League Division One20thG.Jones
1980-1981Cheshire County League Division Two11thDave Morris
1981-1982Cheshire County League Division Two6thDave Morris
 1982-1983North West Counties Division Two1stDave Morris
1983-1984North West Counties Division One3rdDave Morris
1984-1985North West Counties Division One1stDave Morris
 1985-1986North West Counties Division One14thDave Morris
1986-1987North West Counties Division One15thDave Morris
1987-1988Northern Premier League Division Two12th
1988-1989Northern Premier League Division One17thKen .Bridge
1989-1990Northern Premier League Division One17thKen .Bridge
1990-1991Northern Premier League Division One16thKen Wright
1991-1992Northern Premier League Division One13thKen Bridge
1992-1993Northern Premier League Division One12thKevin Glendon
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One16thKen Bridge
1994-1995Northern Premier League Division One7thKevin Glendon
1995-1996Northern Premier League Division One6thKevin Glendon
 1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One1stKevin Glendon
1997-1998Northern Premier League Premier Division21stKevin Glendon
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One6thKevin Glendon
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One5thKevin Glendon
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One9thKevin Glendon
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One5thKevin Glendon
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One3rdKevin Glendon
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division20thKevin Glendon
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division9thKevin Glendon
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division18thKevin Glendon
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division21stAndy Johnson
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One North16thAndy Johnson
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One North17thGerry Luczka
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One North10thGerry Luczka
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One North18thGerry Luczka
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One North15thBenny Phillips
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One North15thBenny Phillips
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One North18thKevin Glenden

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!