Non-League Club Directory Logo

Rainworth Miners Welfare

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Division One South


The football club, which was formed in 1922 as Rutford Colliery, originally competed in The Notts Alliance until 2003.
During that spell they captured the imagination of the football public by playing a part (albiet a losing part) in one of the best Wembley FA Vase Finals. Forest Green Rovers played brilliantly in 1982 to beat a club who were to achieve six Notts Alliance championships in the eighties.

Having joined The Central Midlands League in 2003, ‘The Wrens’ immediately lifted their supporters hopes with promotion to the senior division but adjusting to the next step took a little longer. A move to The Northern Counties East in 207 brought consistency and good leadership from manager Rudy Funk.

After two seasons, promotion to the Premier Division was gained as runners up and then a second promotion brought the club to the highest level in its history by reaching The Northern Premier League in 2010. So far the club have steadily improved but have yet to manage a top ten finish at senior level.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Rufford Colliery
Welfare Ground, Kirklington Road, Rainworth, Mansfield NG21 0 JY
01623 792 495
Record Attendance:
5071 v Barton R. FA Vase Semi-Final 2nd Leg 1982 ( Record for Vase match outside Wembley at the time
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Notts Senior Cup Winners.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

2001-2002Notts Football Alliance8th
2002-2003Notts Football Alliance5th
2003-2004Central Midlands Premier Division3rd
2004-2005Central Midlands Supreme Division20thSandy Pate
2005-2006 Central Midlands Supreme Division9th
2006-2007Central Midlands Supreme Division3rd
2007-2008Northern Counties East Division One4thRudy Funk
2008-2009Northern Counties East Division One2ndRudy Funk
2009-2010Northern Counties East Premier Division2ndRudy Funk
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One South20thRudy Funk
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South19thBilly Miller & Lee Wilkinson
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One South14thKevin Gee
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One South15thScott Rickards

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!