Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Division One South

Altrincham Club Crest image

Ramsgate joined The Kent League four years after their formation in 1945, and won the Division One championship three times before moving up to compete in The Southern League from 1959, until returning to the county league in 1976.

The club survived a desperate period in their history as they finished near the foot of the Kent League consistently until new manager Smith took the club back to a regular mid table challenge in the mid eighties.

Lennie Lee became the longest serving manager and under his guidance ‘The Rams’ won the Kent Championship in 1999, but the highlight for the club’s history was probably the consecutive championship winning squad that took the club from The Kent League in 2004, through The Isthmian Division One, and into The Premier Division in 2006.

Excellent service for seven years from Jim Ward, who has experienced the highs and lows of management, has seen the club settle successfully in The Isthmian Division One South.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Ramsgate Athletic > 1972
Southwood Stadium, Prices Avenue, Ramsgate, Kent CT11 0AN
01843 591 662
Approach Ramsgate via A299 (Canterbury/London) or A256 (Dover/Folkestone) to Lord of Manor roundabout. Follow the signpost to Ramsgate along Canterbury Road East, counting via 2nd exit of the 1st roundabout. At the 2nd roundabout, continue towards Ramsgate on London Road (2nd exit). Take the 3rd turning on the left, into St Mildred’s Avenue, then 1st left into Queen Bertha Road. After the right hand bend, take left into Southwood Road, and 1st left into Prices Ave. The stadium is at the end of Prices Avenue.
Record Attendance:
5,200 v Margate - 1956-57
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Isthmian League Division One 2005-06

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Kent League10thR.Harrop
1979-1980Kent League16thR.Harrop
1980-1981Kent League17thR.Harrop
1981-1982Kent League10thP.Gilbert
1982-1983Kent League17thP. Gilbert
1983-1984Kent League16thS.Jest
1984-1985Kent League17thS.Jest
1985-1986Kent League8thL.Smith
1986-1987Kent League4thL.Smith
1987-1988Kent League10thL.Smith
1988-1989Kent League9thL.Smith
1989-1990Kent League20thVic Medus
1990-1991Kent League10thBob Wickens
1991-1992Kent League10thBob Wickens
1992-1993Kent League12thLennie Lee/Paul Rimmer
1993-1994Kent League9thLennie Lee
1994-1995Kent League5thLennie Lee
1995-1996Kent League14thLennie Lee
1996-1997Kent League2ndJim Ward
1997-1998Kent League13thJim Ward
 1998-1999Kent League1stJim Ward
1999-2000Kent League5thJim Ward
2000-2001Kent League5thJim Ward
2001-2002Kent League6thPeter Hook
2002-2003Kent League5thPeter Hook
2003-2004Kent League9thPeter Hook/Jim Ward
 2004-2005Kent League1stJim Ward
 2005-2006Isthmian League Division One1stJim Ward
2006-2007Isthmian League Premier Division9thJim Ward
2007-2008Isthmian League Premier Division5thJim Ward
2008-2009Isthmian League Premier Division22ndJim Ward
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One South14thJim Ward
2010-2011Isthmian League Division One South9thJim Ward
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One South10thJim Ward
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One South7thTim Dixon
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One South12thTim Dixon/Dean Hill/Justin Luchford

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!