Non-League Club Directory Logo

Royston Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Division One Central


After beginning their career in The Cambridgeshire & Herts County League, Royston Town, formed in 1872, spent important developing years in the South Midlands League until joining the famous Isthmian competition in 1984.

Ten years were contested within the lower Isthmian levels, then it was decided to drop back into The South Midlands League in 1994. Regular challenges at the top of the league lifted morale and the competition itself expanded to become The Spartan South Midlands League, with ‘The Crows’ earning an immediate promotion to the Premier Division where they stayed until 2007.

Sometimes a drop down a division can give a club a chance to rebuild confidence and for Royston Town this certainly was the case, as a quick return to The Premier Division under the leadership of manager Paul Attfield, was followed by another promotion for the first time into The Southern League as Spartan South Midlands Champions.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Garden Walk, Royston, Herts SG8 7HP
01763 241 204
From A505 (Town by pass) take A10 towards town centre (Signposted London), go straight on at next roundabout. Garden Walk is on the left after the third set of pedestrian lights (opposite Catholic CHurch. Entrance to ground is approximately 75 metres on left.
Record Attendance:
876 v Aldershot Town 1993-1994
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Spartan South Midland Premier Division Champions 2011-2012

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979South Midlands Premier Division4th
1979-1980South Midlands Premier Division2nd
1980-1981South Midlands Premier Division8th
1981-1982South Midlands Premier Division6thT.Everitt
1982-1983South Midlands Premier Division7thT.Everitt
1983-1984South Midlands Premier Division14thDave Bullock
1984-1985Isthmian League Division Two North11thJohn Bailey
1985-1986Isthmian League Division Two North8thJohn Bailey
1986-1987Isthmian League Division Two North21stJohn Bailey
1987-1988Isthmian League Division Two North17thJim Beech
1988-1989Isthmian League Division Two North18thFrank Cornwall
1989-1990Isthmian League Division Two North9thFrank Cornwall
1990-1991Isthmian League Division Two North16thFrank Cornwall
1991-1992Isthmian League Division Three11thFrank Cornwall
1992-1993Isthmian League Division Three7thJohn Halliwell
1993-1994Isthmian League Division Three8thJohn Halliwell
1994-1995South Midlands Premier Division4thTony Galvin
1995-1996South Midlands Premier Division6thTony Galvin
1996-1997South Midlands Premier Division6thPaddy Butcher
1997-1998Spartan South Midlands Premier North4thPaddy Butcher
1998-1999Spartan South Midlands Premier Division9thKevin Pugh
1999-2000Spartan South Midlands Premier Division11thKevin Pugh
2000-2001Spartan South Midlands Premier Division17thKevin Pugh
2001-2002Spartan South Midlands Premier Division8thGavin Head
2002-2003Spartan South Midlands Premier Division16thGavin Head
2003-2004Spartan South Midlands Premier Division13thGavin Head
2004-2005Spartan South Midlands Premier Division16thPeter Baker
2005-2006Spartan South Midlands Premier Division18th
2006-2007Spartan South Midlands Premier Division20th
2007-2008Spartan South Midlands Division One5thPhil Snowden
 2008-2009Spartan South Midlands Division One1stPaul Attfield
2009-2010Spartan South Midlands Premier Division4thPaul Attfield
2010-2011Spartan South Midlands Premier Division3rdPaul Attfield
 2011-2012Spartan South Midlands Premier Division1stPaul Attfield
2012-2013Southern League Division One Central7thPaul Attfield
2013-2014Southern League Division One Central7thSteve Castle

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!