Non-League Club Directory Logo

Boston Town

Currently Playing In:

United Counties Premier Division


Only formed in 1964, in a town where Boston United were already established,  the new club played as Boston F.C. and won the Lincolnshire League in their first year. An equally successful season was achieved when they moved up to the Central League and then in 1966 they joined The Eastern Counties League. They didn’t find life easy and in 1967-1968 after a difficult campaign, the club decided they would be more suited geographically in the Midland League. This was followed by five seasons in The Northern Counties East and four in The Central Counties League before settling happily in the United Counties Premier Division.

The club changed its name to Boston Town in 1994 and immediately won the United Counties title for the first time. One of the most influential characters in the clubs history was Bob Don-Duncan who played, became player-manager and returned for a second managerial spell which lasted for sixteen seasons. With a total over over twenty managerial years, his teams only finished outside the top ten three times and achieved three championships.

Although many clubs have outstretched themselves financially with disastrous results, Boston Town are a fine example of a consistently successful club in their own league, who appear to be happy and successful at a level enjoyed by their supporters and local players.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Boston FC
Tattershall Road, Boston, Lincolnshire PE21 9LR
01205 365 470
Record Attendance:
2,700 v Boston United FACup 1970
Most Recent Senior Honour:
United Counties League 2000-2001

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Midland Counties6thBob Duncan
 1978-1979Midland Counties1stBob Duncan
1979-1980Midland Counties3rdBob Duncan
 1980-1981Midland Counties1stBob Duncan
1981-1982Midland Counties9thBob Duncan
1982-1983Northern Counties East Premier Division16thBob Duncan
1983-1984Northern Counties East Premier Division12thM.Boyers
1984-1985Northern Counties East Premier Division17thM.Boyers
1985-1986Northern Counties East Premier Division17thR A Gell
1986-1987Northern Counties East Premier Division19thR A Gell
1987-1988Central Midlands Supreme Division12thTrevor Thompson
 1988-1989Central Midlands Supreme Division1stW.Brindley
1989-1990Central Midlands Supreme Division7thW.Brindley
1990-1991Central Midlands Supreme Division9thJim Kabia
1991-1992United Counties Premier Division8thPercy Freeman
1992-1993United Counties Premier Division11thPercy Freeman
1993-1994United Counties Premier Division8thPercy Freeman
As Boston Town
 1994-1995United Counties Premier Division1stBob Don-Duncan
1995-1996United Counties Premier Division10thBob Don-Duncan
1996-1997United Counties Premier Division5thBob Don-Duncan
1997-1998United Counties Premier Division7thBob Don-Duncan
1998-1999United Counties Premier Division8thBob Don-Duncan
1999-2000United Counties Premier Division3rdBob Don-Duncan
 2000-2001United Counties Premier Division1stBob Don-Duncan
2001-2002United Counties Premier Division8thBob Don-Duncan
2002-2003United Counties Premier Division8thBob Don-Duncan
2003-2004United Counties Premier Division5thBob Don-Duncan
2004-2005United Counties Premier Division11thBob Don-Duncan
2005-2006United Counties Premier Division6thBob Don-Duncan
2006-2007United Counties Premier Division2ndBob Don-Duncan
2007-2008United Counties Premier Division6thBob Don-Duncan
2008-2009United Counties Premier Division5thBob Don-Duncan
2009-2010United Counties Premier Division5thBob Don-Duncan
2010-2011United Counties Premier Division7thMartyn Lakin
2011-2012United Counties Premier Division14thMartyn Lakin
2012-2013United Counties Premier Division10thIan Dunn & Matt Hocking
2013-2014United Counties Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!