Non-League Club Directory Logo

Sheffield FC

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Division One South


Famous throughout the game as the oldest football club in the world, Sheffield Football Club formed in 1857, enjoys a special history. However, after their Wembley FAVase Final in 1977 the club appears to have established itself in Step Four of the Non-League pyramid.

Having competed in the Yorkshire League since competitive football returned after the Second World War, they became founder members of The Northern Counties East in
1982. As can be seen from the chart below, the club has a good reputation for giving their managers time to build their squads and the ‘Evans Era’ proved very successful with two championships in 1989 and 1991.

David McCarthy also produced an exciting run by following three fourth place finishes with promotion as runners-up in 2007. This took the club into Northern Premier League Football in which Sheffield have challenged at the top every other season!


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
The T Local Business Stadium, Shefield Road, Dronfield S18 2GD
01246 292 622
Record Attendance:
2,000 v Barton Rovers FA Vase Semi-Final 1976-1977
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Sheffield & Hallamshire Senior Cup

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Yorkshire League8thChris Stanley & R.Ford
1979-1980Yorkshire League5thChris Stanley & R.Ford
1980-1981Yorkshire League12thChris Stanley & R.Ford
1981-1982Yorkshire League11thChris Stanley
1982-1983Northern Counties East Div One South3rdP.Buckley
1983-1984Northern Counties East Div One South4thP.Buckley
1984-1985Northern Counties East Div One South6thR.Evans
1985-1986Northern Counties East Division One2ndR.Evans
1986-1987Northern Counties East Division One17thR.Evans
1987-1988Northern Counties East Division One8thR.Evans
 1988-1989Northern Counties East Division One1stR.Evans
1989-199Northern Counties East Premier Division9thR.Evans
 1990-1991Northern Counties East Division One1stR.Evans
1991-1992Northern Counties East Premier Division6thR.Evans
1992-1993Northern Counties East Premier Division15thR.Evans
1993-1994Northern Counties East Premier Division4thKenny Johnson
1994-1995Northern Counties East Premier Division18thKenny Johnson
1995-1996Northern Counties East Premier Division20thKenny Johnson
1996-1997Northern Counties East Premier Division18thKenny Johnson
1997-1998Northern Counties East Premier Division15thJohn Pearson
1998-1999Northern Counties East Premier Division12thJohn Pearson
1999-2000Northern Counties East Premier Division14thJohn Pearson
2000-2001Northern Counties East Premier Division7thJohn Pearson
2001-2002Northern Counties East Premier Division9thDavid McCarthy
2002-2003Northern Counties East Premier Division7thDavid McCarthy
2003-2004Northern Counties East Premier Division4thDavid McCarthy
2004-2005Northern Counties East Premier Division4thDavid McCarthy
2005-2006Northern Counties East Premier Division4thDavid McCarthy
2006-2007Northern Counties East Premier Division2ndDavid McCarthy
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One4thDavid McCarthy
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One South11thChris Dolby
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One South5thChris Dolby
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One South11thChris Dolby
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South4thMark Shaw
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One South9thCurtis Woodhouse
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One South16thMick Wadsworth

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!