Non-League Club Directory Logo

Shortwood United

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Division One South West


The club from rural Gloucestershire was formed in 1900 and has competed in the local leagues until joining the Hellenic League in 1982. The Stroud, Northern Senior and Gloucestershire County Leagues all prepared the club for the step up, but immediate relegation was a test of confidence for all concerned.

To bounce back at the first attempt was impressive and then to gain promotion to The Premier Division immediately set ‘The Wood’ up for a long and distinguished period of Hellenic football.

Two long serving managers have been influential in the clubs progress. Mike Carroll was in charge of five consecutive top three finishes in ‘the eighties’ and John Evans, himself a well known ex-Gloucestershire footballer, has taken the club into its highest ever league position in his second spell as manager.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Meadowbank, Shortwood, Nailsworth GL6 0SJ
01453 833 936
When entering Nailsworth from Stroud turn tight at mini roundabout, when coming from Cirencester go straight over roundabout and when from Bath turn left at mini roundabout. Proceed up Spring HIll 30 yards turn left at Raffles Wine Warehouse, then straight through town turn left at Brittannia Pub, carry on for one mile until Shortwood village. Sign post on fork in the road to the left follow for quarter of a mile ground opposite church.
Record Attendance:
1000 v Forest Green Rovers FA Vase 5th Round 1982
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Hellenic League Champions 1991-1992

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1983-1984Hellenic League Division One2ndM.Carroll
 1984-1985Hellenic League Premier Division1stM.Carroll
1985-1986Hellenic League Premier Division2ndM.Carroll
1986-1987Hellenic League Premier Division3rdM.Carroll
1987-1988Hellenic League Premier Division3rdM.Carroll
1988-1989Hellenic League Premier Division11thM.Carroll
1989-1990Hellenic League Premier Division2ndM.Carroll
1990-1991Hellenic League Premier Division6thAndy Ireland
 1991-1992Hellenic League Premier Division1stAndy Ireland
1992-1993Hellenic League Premier Division7thPat Casey
1993-1994Hellenic League Premier Division2ndSteve Doughty
1994-1995Hellenic League Premier Division5thSteve Hurn
1995-1996Hellenic League Premier Division13thSteve Hurn
1996-1997Hellenic League Premier Division11thSimon Stroud
1997-1998Hellenic League Premier Division14thSimon Stroud
1998-1999Hellenic League Premier Division15thBrian Godfrey
1999-2000Hellenic League Premier Division11thJohn Evans
2000-2001Hellenic League Premier Division11thJohn Evans & Roger Smth
2001-2002Hellenic League Premier Division9thJohn Evans & Roger Smth
2002-2003Hellenic League Premier Division13thJohn Evans
2003-2004Hellenic League Premier Division19thMark Sumpter & Ian Freebrey
2004-2005Hellenic League Premier Division15thMark Sumpter & Ian Freebrey
2005-2006Hellenic League Premier Division15thIan Freebrey
2006-2007Hellenic League Premier Division8thJohn Evans
2007-2008Hellenic League Premier Division5thJohn Evans
2008-2009Hellenic League Premier Division2ndJohn Evans
2009-2010Hellenic League Premier Division2ndJohn Evans
2010-2011Hellenic League Premier Division6thJohn Evans
2011-2012Hellenic League Premier Division2ndJohn Evans
2012-2013Southern League Division One SW8thJohn Evans
2013-2014Southern League Division One SW6thJohn Evans & Alex Sykes

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!