Non-League Club Directory Logo

Soham Town Rangers

Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Division One North


Being formed just after The Second World War in 1945, Soham Town Rangers first competed in the Peterborough & District League before graduating to the Eastern Counties League in 1963.

Rangers didn’t find life in The Eastern Counties League at all easy and in the ‘eighties’ not one top ten finish was achieved. However Runners Up position in 1993 saw the club move up to The Premier Division where they stayed for fourteen seasons.

It was manager Ian Benjamin who built a squad good enough to win the title in 2008 and for the first time in the club’s history, their supporters were able to watch Southern League football. Life hasn’t been easy at this level but a steady improvement will be hoped for as they settle down to football in The Isthmian Division One North.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Soham Town and Soham Rangers merged in 1947
Julius Martin Lane, Soham, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 5EQ
01353 720 732
Take the turning off The A14 for Soham/Ely. Join The A142 following signs for Ely/Soham at the Q8 Petrol Station, continue down the Soham by-pas for approx 1.5 miles. Turn left after the Bypass Motel continue bearing left across the Common into Bushel Lane, at end of road, turn right into Half Street. Julius Martin Lane is second left.
Record Attendance:
3,000 v Pegasus FA Amateur Cup 1963
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Eastern Counties Premier League Champions 2007-2008

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Eastern Counties League13th
1979-1980 Eastern Counties League10th
1980-1981Eastern Counties League18th
1981-1982Eastern Counties League21st
1982-1983Eastern Counties League17th
1983-1984Eastern Counties League18thK.Payne
1984-1985Eastern Counties League12thS.Low
1985-1986Eastern Counties League18thJ.Fretwell
1986-1987Eastern Counties League20thJ.Fretwell
1987-1988Eastern Counties League21stJ.Fretwell
1988-1989Eastern Counties League21stM.Collis
1989-1990Eastern Counties League Division One3rdAdrian Davis
1990-1991Eastern Counties League Division One6thAdrian Davis
1991-1992Eastern Counties League Division One8thAdrian Davis
1992-1993Eastern Counties League Division One2ndAdrian Davis
1993-1994Eastern Counties League Premier Division18thMick Mann
1994-1995Eastern Counties League Premier Division18thAndy Parker
1995-1996Eastern Counties League Premier Division12thAndy Parker
1996-1997Eastern Counties League Premier Division13thR.Goodjohn & G.Grogan
1997-1998Eastern Counties League Premier Division15thR.Goodjohn
1998-1999Eastern Counties League Premier Division7thR.Goodjohn
1999-2000Eastern Counties League Premier Division16thR.Goodjohn
2000-2001Eastern Counties League Premier Division9thR.Goodjohn
2001-2002Eastern Counties League Premier Division13thR.Goodjohn & I Benjamin
2002-2003Eastern Counties League Premier Division3rdR.Goodjohn
2003-2004Eastern Counties League Premier Division5thR.Goodjohn
2004-2005Eastern Counties League Premier Division7thKevin Pritchard
2005-2006 Eastern Counties League Premier Division10thIan Benjamin
2006-2007Eastern Counties League Premier Division8thIan Benjamin
 2007-2008Eastern Counties League Premier Division1stIan Benjamin
2008-2009Southern League Division One Midlands15thIan Benjamin
2009-2010Southern League Division One Midlands11thIan Benjamin
2010-2011Southern League Division One Central17thIan Benjamin
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One North19thAndrew Furnell
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One North7thSteve Fallon
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One North8thSteve Fallon

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!