Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

Southport Football Club developed from their early days as Southport Central and Southport Wanderers when they changed their name after The First World War in 1991 and were elected to The Football League from The Lancashire Combination in 1921.

‘The Sandgrounders’ remained in The Football League until 1978 where they enjoyed two spells in the old Third Division. On returning to non-league football, Southport joined The Northern Premier League bur lacked consistency and failed to move up until Brian Kettle’s team won the championship and promotion in 1993.

Top of the table challenges were mounted in the next three seasons but form deteriorated and the 2003-2004 season was spent in The Northern Premier League before Southport qualified for the new Conference North and after immediate promotion a place was confirmed in The Conference Premier - but it only lasted for two seasons.

Southport have a good FA Cup pedigree, with four 1st Round appearances, one Second Round and One Third Round in seven years between 1996-2003 being particularly

Southport have proved inconsistent since winning their place back at the top of the Non-League world. Three seasons challenging at the top of Conference North led to promotion in 2010, but two difficult seasons have been survived on either side of an encouraging 7th place finish in 2011-2012.


Club Factfile

Haig Avenue, Southport, Merseyside PR8 6JZ
01704 533 422
Leave M6 at junction 26. Join M58 to junction 3. Join A570 signposted Southport, follow A570 through Ormskirk Town Centre following signs for Southport. At the big roundabout (McDonalds is on the left) take the fourth exit. Proceed along this road until you reach the 2nd set of pedstrian lights and take the next left into Haig Avenue.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Northern Premier League Premier Division5thH.D. Fisher
1979-1980Northern Premier League Premier Division19thHarry McNally
1980-1981Northern Premier League Premier Division20thAlan Hampson
1981-1982Northern Premier League Premier Division8thAlan Hampson
1982-1983Northern Premier League Premier Division15thJohn Johnson
1983-1984Northern Premier League Premier Division16thBob Murphy
1984-1985Northern Premier League Premier Division11thBob Murphy
1985-1986Northern Premier League Premier Division6thBob Murphy
1986-1987Northern Premier League Premier Division8thBryan Grifiths
1987-1988Northern Premier League Premier Division14thBryan Griffiths/Mickey Taylor
1988-1989Northern Premier League Premier Division14thMickey Taylor
1989-1990Northern Premier League Premier Division7thBrian Kettle
1990-1991Northern Premier League Premier Division5thBrian Kettle
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division7thBrian Kettle
 1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division1stBrian Kettle
1993-1994Conference4thBrian Kettle
1994-1995Conference3rdBrian Kettle/Billy Ayre
1995-1996Conference6thBilly Ayre
1996-1997Conference11thSteve Joel/Ronnie Moore
& /Paul Futcher
1997-1998Conference16thPaul Futcher
1998-1999Conference18thPaul Futcher
1999-2000Conference9thPaul Futcher
2000-2001Conference4thMark Wright
2001-2002Conference15thPhil Wilson
2002-2003Conference21stPhil Wilson
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division6thMike Walsh
 2004-2005Conference North1stLaim Walsh
2005-2006Conference18thLiam Walsh
2006-2007Conference23rdPaul Cook
2007-2008Conference North3rdPeter Davenport
2008-2009Conference North8thLiam Watson
 2009-2010Conference North1stLiam Watson
2010-2011Conference Premier21stLiam Watson
2011-2012Conference Premier7thLiam Watson
2012-2013Conference Premier20thLiam Watson
2013-2014Conference Premier

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!