Non-League Club Directory Logo

Spennymoor Town

Currently Playing In:

Northern League Division One


Spennymoor is one of the most famous names in Northern League Football, as our statistics show. I was lucky to be looking after the Rothmans sponsorship of The Northern League in ‘The Seventies’ where Spennymoor’s Stan Bradley proved a good friend and colleague, and his club enjoyed five titles in a wonderful decade.

In the nineties the club chose to take its place in the non-league pyramid and spent three years in The Northern Counties East before winning the championship and promotion into The Northern Premier League, where, aftert one year in Division One another promotion, was gained, this time as runners-up.

Life in The Premier Division didn’t prove easy and after eleven years of constant pressure, the club lost its place and re-organized itself as Spennymoor Town to return and start again in The Northern League Division Two.

The good news is that the move has proved a great success. Without the pressure of building squads happy to travel for fixtures across the North of England, another glorious period of championship winning has also brought an exiting trip to Wembley for a club from The North East where traditions in The FA Amateur Cup and, recently the FA Vase, are supreme.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Spennymoor United
Brewery Field, Durham Road, Spennymoor DL16 6JN
07738 388240
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Northern League Division Two Champions 2011-2012 and FA Vase Winners 2012-2013

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

As Spennymoor United
 1971-1972Northern League1st
 1972-1973Northern League3rd
 1973-1974Northern League1st
1974-1975Northern League2nd
1975-1976Northern League3rd
 1976-1977Northern League1st
 1977-1978Northern League1st
1978-1979Northern League1st
1979-1980 Northern League2nd
1980-1981Northern League2nd
1981-1982Northern League5th
1982-1983Northern League5thR.Savage
1983-1984Northern League11thR.Savage
1984-1985Northern League11thW.Bell
1985-1986Northern League14thW.Bell
1986-1987Northern League3rdW.Bell
1987-1988Northern League11thT.Monkhouse
1988-1989Northern League11thT.Monkhouse
1989-1990Northern League11thT.Monkhouse
1990-1991Northern Counties East Premier Division3rdRay Gowan
1991-1992Northern Counties East Premier Division5thRay Gowan
 1992-1993Northern Counties East Premier Division1stMatt Pearson
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One2ndMatt Pearson
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division6thMatt Pearson
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division9thMatt Pearson
1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division19thMatt Pearson
1997-1998Northern Premier League Premier Division14thMatt Pearson
1998-1999Northern Premier League Premier Division18thMatt Pearson
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division21stColin Richardson
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division23rdPeter Mulcaster
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One4thCraig Veart & Stuart Dawson
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One2ndTony Lee/Jamie Pollock
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division18thAlex Mathie
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndTony Lee
As Spennymoor Town
2005-2006 Northern League Division Two8thKen Houlahan
2006-2007Northern League Division Two1stKen Houlahan
2007-2008Northern League Division One12thKen Houlahan
2008-2009Northern League Division One4thJason Ainsley
2009-2010Northern League Division One1stJason Ainsley
2010-2011Northern League Division One1stJason Ainsley
2011-2012Northern League Division One1stJason Ainsley
2012-2013Northern League Division One2ndJason Ainsley
2013-2014Northern League Division One

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!