Non-League Club Directory Logo

St Albans City

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Premier Division


The ‘Twenties’ were great years for St.Albans City Football Club, who were founded in 1908 and played early competitive football in the Herts County and Spartan Leagues before settling down in The Athenian League

Two championship seasons set up a move into The Isthmian League in 1923, where ‘The Saints’ won three championships before the end of the decade. However, after two relegations to the newly formed Isthmian Divisions’ One and Two, the managerial guidance of John Mitchell inspired a return up the pyramid and back into the Isthmian Premier division in 1986. Frequent top ten finishes were finally rewarded with a move up into The Conference South in 2004 after the league re-organization.

In the second season of The Conference South, St Albans City qualified for the Premier Division through the
play-offs. However, only one season was spent in the higher division before a quick relegation saw City struggling. The club was relegated in 2011 and for the first time ‘The Saints’ joined the Southern League where they have settled down happily.


Club Factfile

Clarence Park, York Road, St Albans City, Herts AL1 4PL
01727 848 914
Record Attendance:
9757 v Ferryhill Athletic FA Amateur CUp 1926
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Isthmian League Division One Champions 1985-1986

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980 Isthmian League Division One7thR.Murphy
1980-1981Isthmian League Division One5thR.Murphy
1981-1982Isthmian League Division One15thRon Duke
1982-1983Isthmian League Division One21stJ.Butterfield
1983-1984Isthmian League Division Two2ndJ.Butterfield & J.Mitchell
1984-1985Isthmian League Division One6thJohn Mitchell
 1985-1986Isthmian League Division One1stJohn Mitchell
1986-1987Isthmian Premier Division14thJohn Mitchell
1987-1988Isthmian Premier Division15thJohn Mitchell
1988-1989Isthmian Premier Division17thJ.Lacy
1989-1990Isthmian Premier Division15thR.Butler
1990-1991Isthmian Premier Division16thJ.Howard
1991-1992Isthmian Premier Division13thJohn Mitchell
1992-1993Isthmian Premier Division2ndJohn Mitchell
1993-1994Isthmian Premier Division7thSteve Ketteridge
1994-1995Isthmian Premier Division7thA.Cockram & M Duffield
1995-1996Isthmian Premier Division7thAllan Cockram
1996-1997Isthmian Premier Division6thAlan Randall
1997-1998Isthmian Premier Division11thJimmy Neighbour
1998-1999Isthmian Premier Division6thGarry Hill
1999-2000Isthmian Premier Division6thBob Dowie
2000-2001Isthmian Premier Division14thKevin Mudd
2001-2002Isthmian Premier Division10thJohn Kendall
2002-2003Isthmian Premier Division3rdGary Roberts & Steve Cook
2003-2004Isthmian Premier Division19thGary Roberts & Steve Cook
2004-2005Conference South14thSteve Castle
2005-2006Conference South2ndSteve Castle
2006-2007Conference Premier24thColin Lipatt
2007-2008Conference South19thPeter Beadle
2008-2009Conference South12thSteve Castle
2009-2010Conference South13thSteve Castle
2010-2011Conference South22ndSteve Castle
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division8thDavid Howell
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division11thDavid Howell
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division4thJames Gray & Graham Golds
2014-2015Conference SouthJames Gray & Graham Golds

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!