Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Spartan South Midlands Premier Division.


After formation in 1904 the club’s first competitive football was played in The Biggleswade League before settling down for a thirty year spell in The North Hertfordshire League.

The club’s present ground, which they are using for a second spell, was originally in a field
called ‘Roker’ presumably by a Sunderland supporter involved with Stotfold Athletic, the first tenants.

In 1951 Stotfold moved across to The South Midlands League and qualified for Division one in 1953 and The Premier Division two years later. Years of consistant challenging the leaders brought the championship in 1981 and four years later ‘The Eagles‘ joined The United Counties League.

The club has given loyal service to their three leagues and it was at their 24th attempt that the United Counties championship was won under the managerial guidance of ex Football League player Ian Allinson.

Stotfold are now back in The Spartan South Midlands League where they will hope to emulate their excellent record in the eighties.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Roker Park, The Green, Stotfold, Hitchin, Herts SG5 4AN
01462 730 765
At A1 junction 10, take the A507 to Stotfold and right into town. Proceed along High St and at traffic lights turn right (from Htchin-straight over traffic lights) towards Astwick Turn right at the Crown Pub into The Green.The Ground is set back from the Green on the left.
Record Attendance:
Most Recent Senior Honour:
United Counties Premier Division Champions 2007-2008

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978South Midlands League Premier Division3rd
1978-1979South Midlands League Premier Division5th
1979-1980South Midlands League Premier Division4th
 1980-1981South Midlands League Premier Division1st
1981-1982South Midlands League Premier Division3rd
1982-1983South Midlands League Premier Division4th
1983-1984South Midlands League Premier Division4thB.Lambert
1984-1985United Counties Premier Division14thB.Lambert
1985-1986United Counties Premier Division19thT.Lamb
1986-1987United Counties Premier Division3rdRoland Legate
1987-1988United Counties Premier Division5thRoland Legate
1988-1989United Counties Premier Division10thRoland Legate
1989-1990United Counties Premier Division6thPhil Cook
1990-1991United Counties Premier Division10thPhil Cook
1991-1992United Counties Premier Division5thPhil Cook
1992-1993United Counties Premier Division17thSteve Taverner
1993-1994United Counties Premier Division2ndIan Allinson
1994-1995United Counties Premier Division9thIan Allinson
1995-1996United Counties Premier Division2ndIan Allinson
1996-1997United Counties Premier Division3rdIan Allinson
1997-1998United Counties Premier Division8thIan Allinson
1998-1999United Counties Premier Division7thPhil Pateman
1999-2000United Counties Premier Division4thPhil Pateman
2000-2001United Counties Premier Division15thPhil Pateman
2001-2002United Counties Premier Division9thKen Davidson
2002-2003United Counties Premier Division17thKen Davidson
2003-2004United Counties Premier Division10thPhil Pateman
2004-2005United Counties Premier Division9thPhil Pateman
2005-2006United Counties Premier Division11thJim Benton
2006-2007United Counties Premier Division19thGlen Clark
 2007-2008United Counties Premier Division1stIan Allinson
2008-2009United Counties Premier Division2ndIan Allinson
2009-2010United Counties Premier Division7thGordon Bickerstaff
2010-2011Spartan South Midlands Premier Division13thGordon Bickerstaff
2011-2012Spartan South Midlands Premier Division9thGordon Bickerstaff
2012-2013Spartan South Midlands Premier Division14thSteve Young
2013-2014Spartan South Midlands Premier Division18thGordon Bickerstaff

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!