Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Southern League Premier Division


A well established midland club was formed in 1876 and originally played in the Birmingham League, which was to become The West Midlands (Regional) League.
Following the Second World War, ‘The Glassboys’ joined The Birmingham Combination but after eight years they returned to their original competition, where they remained until being accepted by The Southern League in 1971.

Stourbridge have been a proud member of the highly respected league ever since, apart from a six year break when the club dropped down in 2000. This break was used to rebuild confidence and also to improve ground facilities and after two championships in 2002 and 2003, the club was ready for promotion in 2006 when Stourbridge finished as runners-up.

Previously only in The Southern League’s Premier Division for two seasons in the early eighties, the club won promotion to the Southern League’s senior level through the play-offs in 2008. The impressive managerial guidance of Gary Hackett had led them to their highest level and in each season since, Stourbridge have improved their league position.


Club Factfile

War Memorial Athletic Ground
-1384 394 040/444 075
From Stourbridge Ring road follow signs A491 to Wolverhampton. The ground is on the left within 300 yards immediately beyond the third traffic lights and opposite The Royal Oak Public House.
Record Attendance:
5726 v Cardiff City Welsh Cup Final 1st Leg 1974
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Midland Football Alliance Champions 2002-2003

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One North 12thTerry Wharton
1979-1980Southern League Midland Division7thTerry Wharton
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division6thTerry Wharton
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division4thTony Freely
1982-1983Southern League Premier Division14thTony Freely
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division20thTony Freely
1984-1985Southern League Midland Division7thG.Newton
1985-1986Southern League Midland Division5thG.Newton
1986-1987Southern League Midland Division10thMalcolm Lycett
1987-1988Southern League Midland Division21stMalcolm Lycett
1988-1989Southern League Midland Division18thJohn Chambers
1989-1990Southern League Midland Division8thJohn Chambers
 1990-1991Southern League Midland Division1stJohn Chambers
1991-1992Southern League Midland Division9thJohn Chambers
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division7thJohn Chambers
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division9thNeil Rioch
1994-1995Southern League Midland Division16thColin Gordon
1995-1996Southern League Midland Division11thColin Gordon
1996-1997Southern League Midland Division17thMorton Bartlett
1997-1998Southern League Midland Division11thMorton Bartlett
1998-1999Southern League Midland Division12thSteve Daniels
1999-2000Southern League Western Division21stMick Guest
2000-2001Midland Alliance5thMark Harrison
 2001-2002Midland Alliance1stMark Harrison
 2002-2003Midland Alliance1stJoe Jackson
2003-2004Midland Alliance9thJon Ford & Gary Hackett
2004-2005Midland Alliance8thJon Ford & Gary Hackett
2005-2006Midland Alliance2ndGary Hackett
2006-2007Southern League Division One Midland7thGary Hackett
2007-2008Southern League Division One Midland3rdGary Hackett
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division16thGary Hackett
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division9thGary Hackett
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division8thGary Hackett
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division6thGary Hackett
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division2ndGary Hackett
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division5thGary Hackett

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!