Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

The Birmingham Combination was the first competition in which the newly formed Tamworth Football Club competed in 1933 and it was where they remained until joining The West Midlands (regional) League in 1954.

The club developed steadily and in 1972 was accepted by the Southern League. However, being situated in The Midlands, they were considered for a move across to the Northern Premier League, and in 1979, ‘The Lambs’ spent four seasons in The NPL before returning to The Southern League, Midland Division in 1983-1984, where they suffered a disastrous campaign and were relegated back to The West Midlands League.

Sometimes re-building in the lower leagues can give a club an opportunity to regain confidence and the 1987-1988 season saw ’The Lambs’ completing a West Midlands Cup and League ‘double’, followed by promotion back to Southern League Midland Division. The following season brought the thrilling experiencing of an FA Vase run to Wembley and a 1-1 draw with Sudbury Town, in front of a then record crowd of 26,487, was followed by a 3-0 replay victory.

When Tamworth produce a good spell they really make sure there is plenty to celebrate! Having finished just one point behind KetteringTown in the previous season, they made sure of Conference football by finishing thirteen points ahead of Stafford Rangers in the 2002-2003 campaign, while also reaching an FA Trophy Final where they lost 1-2 to Burscough and just failed to become the first club to win both FA Vase and FA Trophy.

Not previously really known as a ‘cup side,’ Tamworth certainly enjoyed their FA Cup experiences as a Conference Premier club. A trip to Blackpool in 2004-2005, followed by two consecutive runs to The Third Round Proper, gave ‘The Lambs’ extra publicity but League results didn’t match their cup exploits and after two difficult campaigns relegation was suffered in 2007.

Two seasons later Tamworth returned to the top flight as Champions of Conference North.The Club have grown in strength through a tough background, but they are still enjoying senior status and reached the FA Cup 2nd Round again in 2010 and had the thrill of an away Third Round tie at Premier League Everton, where they gave an impressive display, only losing by 2-0 in front of 27,564.


Club Factfile

The Lamb Ground, Kettlebrook, Tamworth, Staffordshire B77 1AA
01827 657 98
M42 junction 10. Take A5/A51 to Town Centre, then follow the signs for Kettlebrook and Tamworth FC.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One North11thD.Robinson
1979-1980Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndD.Robinson
1980-1981Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndD.Robinson
1981-1982Northern Premier League Premier Division19thAlan Hampton
1982-1983Northern Premier League Premier Division20thHarry Shepherd
1983-1984Southern League Midland Division20thHarry Shepherd
1984-1985West Midlands League7thDave Seedhouse
1985-1986West Midlands League9thDave Seedhouse & Peter Nicholls
1986-1987West Midlands League5thRoger Smith & Barry Meads
 1987-1988West Midlands League1stGraham Smith
1988-1989Southern League Midland Division3thGraham Smith
1989-1990Southern League Midland Division4thGraham Smith
1990-1991Southern League Midland Division4thGraham Smith
1991-1992Southern League Midland Division7thGraham Smith
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division10thSammy Chung
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division7thPaul Wood
1994-1995Southern League Midland Division3rdLes Green
1995-1996Southern League Midland Division6thPaul Hendrie
 1996-1997Southern League Midland Division1stPaul Hendrie
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division15thPaul Hendrie
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division9thPaul Hendrie
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division6thPaul Hendrie
2000-2001Southern League Premier Division12thPaul Hendrie
2001-2002Southern League Premier Division2ndGary Mills
 2002-2003Southern League Premier Division1stDarron Gee
2003-2004Conference17thDarron Gee
2004-2005Conference15thMark Cooper
2005-2006Conference20thMark Cooper
2006-2007Conference22ndMark Cooper
2007-2008Conference North15thGary Mills
 2008-2009Conference North1stGary Mills
2009-2010Conference Premier16thGary Mills
2010-2011Conference Premier19thGary Mills
2011-2012Conference Premier18thMarcus Law
2012-2013Conference Premier18thMarcus Law
2013-2014Conference Premier

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!