Non-League Club Directory Logo

Taunton Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern league Division One South West


A Somerset club formed after the Second World War, who joined the senior regional competition, The Western League, in 1954 and soon became one of the senior clubs in the South West. Their first of six Western League championships was won in 1968-1969 and in 1977 ‘The Peacocks were accepted by the Southern League.

After six tough years, the club returned to The Western League and once they had settled down with a consistent manager, Keith Bowker built a side capable of winning the Western League title and a very high standard was continued by Terry Rowles. The club’s very best spell was enjoyed with Russell Musker, whose players won four championships, were runners-up three times and achieved a Wembley FA Vase triumph in 2001.

A return to The Southern League was earned from second place in 2002, but once again the club found this level of football far tougher, with two top ten finishes in ten years. However, a new exciting managerial team of Leigh Robinson, assisted by the experienced Martyn Rogers, plus the ground looking smarter with new social facilities, all bodes well for the promising new squad.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Wordswortgh Drive , Taunton, Somerset TA1 2HG
01823 278 191
Fom M5 junction 2 follow signs to town centre. Proceed along Toneway then bear left at roundabout into Churchard Way. At traffic lights proceed into Wordsworth Drive and the ground is on the left
Record Attendance:
3284 v Tiverton Town FA Vase Semi-Final 1999
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Somerset Premier Cup 2005-2006

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One South11thPeter Thomas
1979-1980Southern League Midland Division14thPeter Thomas
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division17thFrank McMahon
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division17thFrank McMahon
1982-1983Southern League Midland Division15thFrank McMahon
1983-1984Western Football League12thTony Payne
1984-1985Western Football League20thC.Porter
1985-1986Western Football League7th
1986-1987Western Football League8thSammy Kingdom
1987-1988Western Football League9thKeith Bowker
1988-1989Western Football League3rdKeith Bowker
 1989-1990Western Football League1stKeith Bowker
1990-1991Western Football League7thKeith Bowker
1991-1992Western Football League7thKeith Bowker
1992-1993Western Football League4thKeith Bowker
1993-1994Western Football League2ndTerry Rowles
1994-1995Western Football League3rdTerry Rowles
 1995-1996Western Football League1stRussell Musker
1996-1997Western Football League2ndRussell Musker
1997-1998Western Football League2ndRussell Musker
 1998-1999Western Football League1stRussell Musker
 1999-2000Western Football League1stRussell Musker
 2000-2001Western Football League1stRussell Musker
2001-2002Western Football League2ndRussell Musker
2002-2003Southern League Western Division10thRussell Musker
2003-2004Southern League Division One West15thRussell Musker
2004-2005Southern League Division One West17thRussell Musker
2005-2006Southern League Division One West18thPeter Beadle
2006-2007Southern League Division One S.West5thGary Domone
2007-2008Southern League Division One S.West18thGary Domone
2008-2009Southern League Division One S.West20thIan Jones
2009-2010Southern League Division One S.West18thPaul West
2010-2011Southern League Division One S.West9thPaul West
2011-2012Southern League Division One S.West17thPaul West
2012-2013Southern League Division One S.West18thLeigh Robinson
2013-2014Southern League Division One S.West

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!