Non-League Club Directory Logo

Thame United

Currently Playing In:

Hellenic League Premier Division


An Oxfordshire club formed in 1883. which has spent most of its competitive life in the Hellenic League. but has also enjoyed spells in senior leagues and a wonderful FA Vase run to the Semi-Final in   .

Originally playing in The Oxfordshire Senior League, ‘United joined The Hellenic League as founder members and remained until moving across to The South Midlands League in 1988 where Thame United proved to be regular challengers for the championship.

After twice finishing as runners-up, a third season saw them win the title in 1991 and earn an exciting promotion to The Isthmian League. Continued excellent form took them up two more divisions in three years and then a consolidating period in The Isthmian League’s Division One continued, until The League re-organization in 2004 found them placed in The Southern League Division One West.

After two years of Southern League football, United dropped back after a disappointing spell, into The Hellenic League Division One East. After severe financial problems the club is now run by The Thame Football Partnership within excellent new facilities. 

The new Thame United returned to the Premier Division as champions in 2010, where they are rebuilding to challenge once again for Hellenic honours.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Thame FC
THe ASM Stadium, Meadow View Park, Tythrop Way, Thame , Oxon. OX9 3 RN
01844 214 401
Record Attendance:
1035 v Aldershot , Isthmian League Division Two 1994
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Hellenic League Division One East Champions 2009-2010

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Hellenic League Premier Division6thR Eele
1978-1979Hellenic League Premier Division4thR Eele
1979-1980Hellenic League Premier Division13thR Eele
1980-1981Hellenic League Premier Division2nd
1981-1982Hellenic League Premier Division9th
1982-1983Hellenic League Premier Division5th
1983-1984Hellenic League Premier Division3rd
1984-1985Hellenic League Premier Division16thBrian Wyatt
1985-1986Hellenic League Premier Division10thBrian Wyatt
1986-1987Hellenic League Premier Division17thHughie Curran
1987-1988Hellenic League Premier Division9thHughie Curran
1988-1989South Midlands Premier Division2ndHughie Curran
1989-1990South Midlands Premier Division2ndPeter Foley
 1990-1991South Midlands Premier Division1st
1991-1992Isthmian League Division Three8thBob Pratley
1992-1993Isthmian League Division Three2ndBob Pratley
1993-1994Isthmian League Division Two7thBob Pratley
 1994-1995Isthmian League Division Two1stBob Pratley
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One13thBob Pratley
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One15thBob Pratley
1997-1998Isthmian League Division One22ndBob Pratley
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Two3rdAndy Sinott
1999-2000Isthmian League Division One4thAndy Sinott
2000-2001Isthmian League Division One5thAndy Sinott & Alan Thorne
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One11thAndy Sinott
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One North8thAndy Sinott
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One North15thMark West
2004-2005Southern League Division One West11thTony Joyce
2005-2006Southern League Division One West22ndRichard Searle & Alan Thorne
2006-2007Hellenic League Premier Division20thMark West
2007-2008Hellenic League Division One East10thMark West
2008-2009Hellenic League Division One East9thMark West
 2009-2010Hellenic League Division One East1stMark West
2010-2011Hellenic League Premier Division10thMark West
2011-2012Hellenic League Premier Division9thMark West
2012-2013Hellenic League Premier Division9thMark West
2013-2014Hellenic League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!